Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Election commission re-describes over 300 constituencies

March 27, 2013

Chief Election Commissioner Fakhruddin G. Ibrahim chairs a meeting of the ECP. — INP/File Photo

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission has re-described hundreds of constituencies of national and provincial assemblies. A notification was issued on Wednesday saying 128 National Assembly constituencies and 292 provincial constituencies have been re-described.

The reason given for re-description is geographical changes in the constituencies’ respective areas.

The election commission has made the changes under Section 10-A of the Delimitation Act of 1974 which authorises the election commission to make any changes in the constituencies prior to the elections.

National Assembly constituencies where re-description has been done include both constituencies of the capital Islamabad, 19 constituencies in Khyber Pakthunkhwa, 17 in Punjab, 34 constituencies in Sindh and three in Balochistan.

Changes have been made in 292 provincial constituencies that include 73 constituencies in KP, 137 in Punjab, 66 constituencies in Sindh and 16 in Balochistan.