Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PTI fields most candidates in city after MQM, PPP

April 25, 2013

KARACHI, April 24: Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has emerged as the third major political party after the MQM and PPP in terms of number of candidates fielded for National Assembly seats in the metropolis, leaving behind the Jamaat-i-Islami, PML-N and PML-Q, according to the final list of candidates issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan.

Candidates of 13 prominent parties are in the run for 20 NA seats in Karachi with their respective party symbols besides a large number of independent candidates vying for the seats.

The names of candidates along with their election symbols will appear on ballot papers irrespective of any seat adjustment.

The PPP and the MQM have fielded 20 candidates each for as many NA seats. Their election symbols are arrow and kite respectively. The MQM had bagged 17 NA seats in the 2008 general elections and the remaining three were won by the PPP.

The PTI, with bat as election symbol, has fielded 19 candidates for as many seats across the city, leaving only NA-249 (Kharadar, old city area) where it has no candidate.

Though the party has slim chances of winning elections in Karachi, the final poll results will apparently help it gauge the exact number of its vote bank in each constituency.

The JI which has its traditional pockets of votes in every constituency and had won several seats in the 1993 and 2002 general elections has preferred to field only 14 candidates in the city.

It has not fielded any candidate for NA-247 (Liaquatabad), NA-248 (Lyari), NA-249 (Kharadar), NA-254 (Korangi), NA-256 (Shah Faisal Colony) and NA-258 (Gadap, Bin Qasim) and probably left the constituencies for seat adjustments with other parties. The party’s election symbol is scale.

The Awami National Party and the Mohajir Qaumi Movement, better known as MQM-Haqiqi, have fielded nine candidates each in as many constituencies. Both parties have shied away from fielding any candidates for any of the five seats in Karachi’s district central.

The ANP, with lantern as election symbol, has fielded candidates for NA-239 (Keamari), NA-240 (Baldia Town), NA-241 (Orangi Town), NA-250 (Defence-Clifton), NA-254 (Korangi), NA-255 (Landhi), NA-256 (Shah Faisal Colony), NA-257 (Malir) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

The election symbol of the Afaq Ahmed-led MQM-H is candle and it has fielded candidates for NA-241 (Orangi Town), NA-250 (Defence-Clifton), NA-251 (Mehmoodabad-PECHS), NA-253 (Gulshan-i-Iqbal), NA-254 (Korangi), NA-255 (Landhi), NA-256 (Shah Faisal), NA-257 (Malir) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

The Sunni Tehreek (ST) and the Muttahida Deeni Mahaz (MDM) are contesting eight NA seats each.

With table lamp as its election symbol, the ST has fielded candidates for NA-240 (Baldia Town), NA-244 (New Karachi-Federal B. Area), NA-249 (Kharadar), NA-250 (Defence-Clifton), NA-251 (Mehmoodabad-PECHS), NA-253 (Gulshan), NA-255 (Landhi) and NA-256 (Shah Faisal).

The MDM, an alliance of the Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat, Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Sami, JUI-Nazriati, Jamiat Ulema-i-Pakistan (Swad-i-Azam), Jamiat Ahle Hadis (Ibtisam Illahi) and Pakistan Rah-i-Haq Party, is contesting polls with ladder as its symbol.

It has fielded candidates for NA-239 (Keamari), NA-240 (Baldia Town), NA-244 (New Karachi-F.B. Area), NA-251 (Mehmoodabad), NA-252 (PIB-Bahadurabad), NA-253 (Gulshan), NA-257 (Malir) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

The PML-N, the JUI-Fazl and the Majlis Wahdat-i-Muslimeen (MWM) have fielded only five candidates each and preferred to ignore the remaining 75 per cent NA constituencies in Karachi.

PML-N’s election symbol is tiger. It has fielded candidates for NA-239 (Keamari), NA-242 (Qasba-Orangi), NA-251 (Mehmoodabad), NA-257 (Malir) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

The JUI-F, with book as its election symbol, has fielded candidates for NA-239 (Keamari), NA-240 (Baldia), NA-241 (Orangi), NA-248 (Lyari) and NA-250 (Defence-Clifton).

The MWM’s election symbol is tent and it is contesting elections for NA-250 (Defence-Clifton), NA-252 (PIB-Bahadurabad), NA-253 (Gulshan), NA-257 (Malir) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

The PML-Q with cycle as its election symbol is in the run for NA-250 (Defence-Clifton), NA-252 (PIB-Bahadurabad) and NA-258 (Gadap-Bin Qasim).

Two candidates of the PML-F have filed nomination papers for NA-249 (Kharadar) and NA-250 (Defence) and they have been allotted rose as their election symbol.