Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


New Zealand rest Bracewell for South Africa ODIs

December 28, 2012

WELLINGTON, Dec 28: New Zealand have left Doug Bracewell out of their 15-man squad for the One-day International series in South Africa to manage the seamer’s workload, the country’s cricket board said here on Friday.

“The decision to leave Doug Bracewell out of the ODI squad is in line with our policy to sensibly manage player workloads,” Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said. “He has a big role to play in the test series against South Africa and will benefit from the opportunity to freshen up ahead of the home series against England [in February-March].”

The selectors had retained 11 members — including four newcomers — from the Twenty20 squad that lost the three-match series against South Africa 2-1, New Zealand Cricket said in a statement.

Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Corey Anderson and Mitchell McClenaghan were all named to the one-day squad.

Also called up to the one-day squad were the more experienced Kane Williamson, B.J. Watling, Kyle Mills and Adam Milne, while left-arm spinner Ronnie Hira, who has yet to play a One-day International, has also been drafted in.

The Brendon McCullum-led side will play a three-match ODI series after the completion of the two Tests against South Africa in Cape Town and Port Elizabeth.

“We’re keen to show consistency in selection for our short-form side and retain the nucleus of the squad who competed in the T20 series along with four players from the last ODI series against Sri Lanka,” selection manager Kim Littlejohn said. “There is healthy competition for places in our starting line-up at present and we are working on developing a larger group of players who can compete at international level.”

The two teams play three ODIs between Jan 19 and 25.

Squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Rob Nicol, B.J. Watling, Kane Williamson.—Agencies