Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


SC moved for annulment of order on dam

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Information Minister Mian Iftikhar Hussain — File Photo
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Information Minister Mian Iftikhar Hussain. — File photo

NOWSHERA, Dec 6: Provincial information minister Mian Iftikhar Hussain on Thursday appealed to Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry to invalidate the High Court Lahore order for the construction of Kalabagh dam.

“Kalabagh Dam is a dead horse and Pakhtuns can never allow its construction. Therefore, the chief justice of Pakistan should declare the LHC order on it invalid,” Mr Hussain said at the oath-taking ceremony of new office-bearers of Pabbi Press Club here.

The minister said terrorists were hatching conspiracies against democratic institutions and wanted to bring their candidates to parliament. He added that war against terrorism would continue and nefarious designs of terrorists would be thwarted.

He said peace in Afghanistan was the prerequisite for restoration of peace in Pakistan, adding that security forces and the people had rendered unprecedented sacrifices for restoration of peace in the region. Mr Hussain claimed that Awami National party was the country’s only political party that fought against terrorists bravely and openly.

He said fight against terrorism would continue and the followers of Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Khan Abdul Wali Khan would win the next elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The minister said the coalition government of PPP and ANP in the province was moving successfully and all major decisions were being taken with mutual consultation and understanding. He said the ANP-led coalition government had carried out matchless development projects during the past four and a half years.

Earlier, Pabbi Press Club president Abbas Khan, general secretary Mohammad Ilyas, vice president Mohammad Shoaib, senior vice president Kherul Ibrar and finance secretary Mohammad Ibrar took oath of their respective offices.