ANP, PPP dominate in NWFP Assembly

February 20, 2008


PESHAWAR, Feb 19: The Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) have emerged as the two major political parties in the NWFP.

According to unofficial results, the ANP managed to secure 10 of the 35 National Assembly seats in the province, whereas the PPP got nine seats.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Q bagged five NA seats in the NWFP. It had secured four seats in the 2002 general election. The Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) and the Pakistan Muslim League-N secured four seats each. The PPP-S managed to win one NA seat as its chairman Aftab Ahmad Sherpao won from his home constituency, NA-8, Charsadda. Two of the seats were won by independent candidates. They are NA-12, Swabi; and NA-23, Kohistan.

Out of the 99 provincial assembly seats, polling was held for 96 constituencies as in three constituencies the Election Commission had postponed the polls due to deaths of candidates in these areas.

The ANP secured 30 of the 96 seats followed by the PPP with 16 seats. The MMA won 11 seats, and the PML-N six. The PML-Q and PPP-S got five seats.

A total of 22 independent candidates won the polls from different constituencies in the province. The result of PF-58, Mansehra, was not announced till the time of the filing of this report.