JOHANNESBURG, Sept 24: Mahendra Singh Dhoni's young Indian team snatched the inaugural Twenty20 World Championship title after defeating arch-rivals Pakistan by five runs in a thrilling final on Monday.

The Indians, restricted to 157-5 after electing to take first strike in good batting conditions, fought back to bowl out valiant Pakistan for 152 before a sell-out crowd of 32,000 at the Wanderers here.

Pakistan appeared out for the count when they were reduced to 104-7 after 16 overs, but Misbah-ul-Haq gave the Indians a scare with a late charge of 43 off 38 balls.

Misbah and his tail-end partners took 19 runs in the 17th over bowled by spinner Harbhajan Singh, 13 in the 18th of Shanthakumaran Sreesanth and seven runs in the 19th from R.P. Singh, leaving 13 to get off the final over.

Seamer Joginder Sharma bowled a wide off the first ball and was hammered for a six by Misbah with the second legitimate ball, but gave India victory with his next delivery as the batsman holed out to short fine-leg.

R.P. Singh and Irfan Pathan claimed three wickets each as Pakistan's jinx of never having beaten India in a World Cup or world championship match continued.

Top Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan was at hand to witness India take home the winners’ purse of $490,000 while Pakistan received no prize money for their efforts in the final.

The Indian cricket board announced a separate bonus of $2 million for the triumphant team which had played just one Twenty20 international before the tournament and were without senior pros Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Saurav Ganguly.

“It was a real team effort,” said Dhoni. “I am so proud of my team for fighting till the end and never giving up hope.“I had told them before the match that all I needed was 100 percent effort, it did not matter if we won or lost. We gave it our all and won in the end.”

Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik also praised his young team, saying they did not go down without a fight.

“We kept India to under 160, but lost too many wickets at the start,” said Shoaib. “But I am very happy my team did not give up hope and fought till the end.”

India's innings was restricted by seamer Umar Gul who scalped three prize wickets of Yuvraj Singh, Dhoni and top-scorer Gautam Gambhir.

Gambhir slammed 75 off 54 balls, studded with eight boundaries and two sixes, but none of the other batsmen settled in to play a long innings.

The best partnership in the innings was between Gambhir and Yuvraj, who put on 63 for the third wicket.

India's total was boosted by Rohit Sharma and Irfan Pathan who plundered 27 runs in the final two overs. Sharma remained unbeaten on a 16-ball 30.

Pakistan's chase of the victory target of eight runs an over was launched by Imran Nazir who smashed 33 off 14 balls, taking 21 runs in the second over sent down by Sreesanth.

But Pakistan lost three wickets by the sixth over as left-armer R.P. Singh dismissed Mohammad Hafeez and Kamran Akmal in his first two overs and Imran was run out by a direct throw from Robin Uthappa.

Pakistan took the total to 65-3 in the ninth over when three further wickets fell for 12 runs, two in one over from Irfan Pathan, who was named Man-of-the-Match for taking three for 16.

Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi was declared the player of the tournament despite falling for a first-ball duck in the final.



G. Gambhir c Asif b Umar Gul 75

Yusuf Pathan c Shoaib b Asif 15

R.V. Uthappa c Afridi b Sohail 8

Yuvraj Singh c and b Umar Gul 14

M.S. Dhoni b Umar Gul 6

R.P. Sharma not out 30

Irfan Pathan not out 3

EXTRAS (LB-1, W-4, NB-1) 6

TOTAL (for five wkts, 20 overs) 157

FALL OF WKTS: 1-25, 2-40, 3-103, 4-111, 5-130.

DID NOT BAT: Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, R.P. Singh, S. Sreesanth.

BOWLING: Mohammad Asif 3-0-25-1 (1w); Sohail Tanvir 4-0-29-1 (2w); Shahid Afridi 4-0-30-0; Mohammad Hafeez 3-0-25-0; Umar Gul 4-0-28-3 (1nb, 1w); Yasir Arafat 2-0-19-0.


Mohammad Hafeez c Uthappa b R.P. Singh 2

Imran Nazir run out 33

Kamran Akmal b R.P. Singh 0

Younis Khan c Y. Pathan b J. Sharma 24

Shoaib Malik c R. Sharma b I. Pathan 8

Misbah-ul-Haq c Sreesanth b J. Sharma 43

Shahid Afridi c Sreesanth b I. Pathan 0

Yasir Arafat b I. Pathan 15

Sohail Tanvir b Sreesanth 12

Umar Gul lbw b R.P. Singh 0

Mohammad Asif not out 3

EXTRAS (B-1, LB-4, W-6, NB-1) 12

TOTAL (all out, 19.3 overs) 152

FALL OF WKTS: 1-2, 2-26, 3-53, 4-65, 5-76, 6-77, 7-104, 8-138, 9-141.

BOWLING: R.P. Singh 4-0-26-3 (1nb); Sreesanth 4-1-44-1 (2w); Joginder Sharma 3.3-0-20-2 (2w); Yusuf Pathan 1-0-5-0; Irfan Pathan 4-0-16-3 (1w); Harbhajan Singh 3-0-36-0 (1w).

RESULT: India won by five runs.

UMPIRES: S.J.A. Taufel (Australia) and M.R. Benson (England).

TV UMPIRE: D.J. Harper (Australia).

MATCH REFEREE: R.S. Madugalle (Sri Lanka).

MAN-OF-THE-MATCH: Irfan Pathan.




Wheat price crash
Updated 20 May, 2024

Wheat price crash

What the government has done to Punjab’s smallholder wheat growers by staying out of the market amid crashing prices is deplorable.
Afghan corruption
20 May, 2024

Afghan corruption

AMONGST the reasons that the Afghan Taliban marched into Kabul in August 2021 without any resistance to speak of ...
Volleyball triumph
20 May, 2024

Volleyball triumph

IN the last week, while Pakistan’s cricket team savoured a come-from-behind T20 series victory against Ireland,...
Border clashes
19 May, 2024

Border clashes

THE Pakistan-Afghanistan frontier has witnessed another series of flare-ups, this time in the Kurram tribal district...
Penalising the dutiful
19 May, 2024

Penalising the dutiful

DOES the government feel no remorse in burdening honest citizens with the cost of its own ineptitude? With the ...
Students in Kyrgyzstan
Updated 19 May, 2024

Students in Kyrgyzstan

The govt ought to take a direct approach comprising convincing communication with the students and Kyrgyz authorities.