127 awards conferred on Pakistan Day

24 Mar 2006


ISLAMABAD, March 23: A total of 138 civil awards, conferred by President Gen Pervez Musharraf on 14th August, 2005 and two civil awards conferred after 14th August, 2005, were conferred on 23rd March in all four provinces to the luminaries of the country in recognition of their valuable services for Pakistan.

The recipients associated with various fields, including literature, art and culture, designing and medicine, were awarded the Sitara-i-Imtiaz, President’s Award of Pride of Performance and Tamgha-i-Imtiaz.

The governor, Punjab, decorated 70 recipients of the civil awards (Annex-I) at the investiture ceremony held at the Governor’s House, Lahore.

The governor, Sindh, Dr Ishratul Ibad Khan, decorated 39 recipients of the Civil Awards (Annex-II) at the investiture ceremony held at the Governor’s House, Karachi.

The recipients of Sitara-i-Imtiaz are Prof Dr Faiz Mohammad Khan, the late Ali Ahmed K. Brohi, Mazharul Haq Siddiqui, the late Chaudhry Rafiq Ahmed, Mohammad Yasin Malik, Moin Mohammad Fudda, Mohammad Hussain Dadabhoy, Prof Dr Abdul Rashid, Bashir Ali Mohammad, Sultan Ali Allana, Syed Ali Raza, Rafiuddin Zakir Mahmood, Zafar Ahmed Khan, Miss Musharaf Hai and Prof Emeritus Dr Iftikhar Ahmed Mukhtar.

President’s Award for Pride of Performance was conferred to Mrs Zehra Nigah, Prof Mohammad Afaq Siddiqui, Jalal-ud-Din Ahmed, Sardar Amir Adnan, Arshad Mahmud Chaudhry, Mrs Tassawur Khanum, Ghulam Fariduddin Ayaz Al-Hussaini, Jam Mitho Khan and Amin I. Gulgee.

Those who received Tamgha-i-Imtiaz are Dr Huma Qureshi, Dr Asif Farrukhi, Prof Sahar Ansari, Ishtiaq Ahmed Khanzada, Mohammad Zubair Habib, Imdad Ali Nizamani, Mrs Khush Bakht Shujaat, Manzoor Ahmed Khan Niazi (Qawwal), Lal Mohammad Pathan, Qari Syed Khurshid Anwar, Mushtaq Changezi, Omer Sharif, Kamal Salman Masud, Rahmat Khan and Mrs Lilavati Tulsidas Harchandani.

The Sindh chief secretary conducted the ceremony which was attended by Sindh ministers, advisors, civil and army officers, and relatives of the awardees.

The governor, NWFP, decorated 10 recipients of the Civil Awards (Annex-III) at the Investiture Ceremony held at the Governor’s House, Peshawar.

Balochistan Governor Owais Ahmed Ghani decorated eight recipients of the civil awards (Annex-IV) at the investiture ceremony held at the Governor’s House, Quetta.—Agencies

Our correspondent adds from Quetta: The Sitaria-e-Imtiaz was conferred on Syed Fasieh Iqbal, Editor-in-Chief, Daily Balochistan Time and Zaman, and Jimmy F. Engineer.

The Pride of Performance award was given to writer Dr Abdul Rehman Brahvi and adventurer Hayatullah Khan Durrani.

The Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was conferred on Mohammad Ejaz Khan, Bureau Chief, The News; Bismallah Khan (educationist), Religious scholar Maulana Abdullah Khilji and the late Hassam-ud-Din Qazi.

Provincial ministers and senior civil and military officers attended the ceremony.