Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Board of Revenue has notified merger of the erstwhile tribal agencies and Frontier Regions (FRs) with administrative divisions and districts following the merger of the region with the province.

A BoR notification issued here said that two tribal districts and an FR have been added to the Peshawar division, a district to the Malakand, two districts and an FR to Kohat, a district and two FRs to Bannu and two FRs and a district to Dera Ismail Khan division.

It said that the pursuant to 25th Amendment Act, 2018, regarding the merger of the erstwhile Fata in the province and in the exercise of the powers conferred as section 6, chapter II of Land Revenue Act 1967, the KP government was notifying following divisions and subdivision.

It said that FR Peshawar has been merged with the Peshawar district, while Khyber and Mohmand districts have been added to the Peshawar division.

Bajaur district has been included in Malakand division. FR Darra Adamkhel has been included in Kohat district as subdivision, while Orakzai and Kurram agencies have been included in Kohat division.

FR Bannu has been included in Bannu district as Wazir subdivision, while FR Bettani made part of Lakki Marwat district and North Waziristan district has been included in Bannu division.

FR Darazinda has been included in Dera Ismail Khan and FR Jandola in Tank while South Waziristan district has been made part of Dera Ismail Khan division.

It said that as no part of the erstwhile Fata is coterminous with the Hazara and Mardan divisions, there will be no change in the composition of both these divisions.

Published in Dawn, July 20th, 2018