PESHAWAR: Major political parties have submitted to the provincial election commissioner, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa the priority lists of their candidates for the three categories of reserved seats including women seats in the National Assembly and KP Assembly and seats of non-Muslims in the provincial assembly.

The lists include both old and new faces, as Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) and Pakistan Muslim League –Nawaz have preferred to keep names of former MNAs on top of their respective lists for the National Assembly from KP.

These lists were submitted for the nine seats reserved for women in the NA from KP; 22 seats reserved for women in the KP Assembly and three seats reserved for non-Muslims in the KP Assembly.

These seats are filled on the basis of proportional representation of the number of seats won by a political party in the general elections in the NA and the KP Assembly.

Nominees include both old and new faces

In the list submitted by the PTI, two former members of the last National Assembly, Ms Nafisa Khattak, stated to be a close relative of ex-chief minister Pervez Khattak, and Sajida Zulfiqar, are placed at Serial No 1 and 2.

The party has given eight names for MNAs. The other six candidates are Naureen Farouq Ibrahim, Shandana Gulzar Khan, Dr Rubina, Uzma Riaz Jadoon, Dr Ghazna Khalid and Zille Huma.

During the previous National Assembly, the PTI had four women MNAs from KP on the eight reserved seats. The Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-Fazl had two MNAs and the PML-N and Jamaat-i-Islami one each. This time around, the JUI-F and JI are jointly contesting under the banner of the MMA.

For the National Assembly, the MMA has given a list of nine candidates. Two former MNAs of the JUI-F in the outgoing assembly named Shahida Akhter and Naeema Kishwar are placed at Serial No 1 and 3 respectively. A former MNA of the JI from 2002 to 2007, Enayat Begum, is placed at Serial No 2, whereas another MNA of the outgoing assembly Ms Ayesha has been placed at Serial No 8.

Interestingly, another former MNA, Ms Samia Raheel Qazi, who is daughter of late Qazi Hussain Ahmad, has been placed at Serial No 9 in the National Assembly lists, whereas her name is placed at Serial No 21 in the list of reserved seats for KP Assembly. Her chances to win on any of the two seats appear to be bleak.

In a surprising development in the list of Awami National Party, two of its most vocal former MNAs, Ms Bushra Gohar and Ms Jameela Gillani have been placed at Serial No 5 and 6, having almost no chance of reaching the assembly.

Interestingly, the name of Ms Shazia Aurangzeb, who was candidate of PPP during the previous general elections, is on top of the list. Ms Yasmeen Zia, an ex-MPA, is at No 2 whereas Dr Shaheen Zameen and Rabia Sattar are at Serial No 3 and 4.

Like previous polls, the PML-N has placed Tahira Bukhari, an MNA in the last assembly, on top of its list for NA. Other four candidates on the list are Shaheen habib Ullah, Farah Khan, Amna Sardar and Ms Jamila.

For the women reserved seats in KP Assembly, the PTI has submitted list of 15 candidates. Three former MPAs, Nadia Sher, Maliha Aftab and Ayesha Naeem are on top of the list. Other candidates are: Momina Basit, Dr Sumera Shams, Rabia Basri, Dr Asia Asad, Sajida Haneef, Somi Falak Naz, Ayesha Khushnood, Sitara Afreen, Zeenat Bibi, Asia Khattak, Maria Fatima and Nadia Ambreen Khattak.

In the previous KP Assembly, the PTI had won 10 of the 22 reserved seats. Several former MPAs had not been included in the list as they have been accused of selling their votes in the last Senate polls.

Interestingly, the MMA has submitted list of 23 candidates for 22 seats. The names of Rehana Ismael, Humaira Khatoon, Balqees, Nausheen, Lubna, Naheed Younas and Shama Ijaz are at Serial No 1-7.

The ANP has also given a list of 12 candidates. A former MPA and active party leader Ms Shagufta Malik is on top of the list. Ms Shahida Waheed, Dr Taskeen, Khadeeja Sardar and Shabana Saifullah are at serial No 2-5.

The PPP has given a list of nine candidates for the NA and 10 candidates for the KP Assembly. In the provincial assembly lists, the names of former MPAs Nighat Yasmeen Aurakzai , Shazia Tehmas and Mehar Sultana are at Serial No 1-3, respectively. If elected, it would be the fourth consecutive term of Ms Aurakzai on reserved seats. Ms Tehmas belongs to a political family of Peshawar which has been attached with PPP since last many decades.

In both the lists of Qaumi Watan Party, a former senator Ms Aneesa Zaib Tahirkheli is the priority candidate. While the QWP has given only her name for the NA seats, for the provincial assembly it has submitted nine names.

Meanwhile, the returning officers across the province began scrutiny of nomination papers. The scrutiny will continue until June 19.

A total of 683 nomination papers were filed for the 39 National assembly general seats and 1959 papers were filed for the 99 provincial assembly general seats. Similarly, 306 papers were filed for 12 seats of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

Published in Dawn, June 13th, 2018