Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


SIALKOT: PTI’s candidate for NA-72 Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan submitted her nomination papers on Monday. Side by side, her rival, Chaudhry Ameer Hussain, also submitted his papers for the same constituency.

The PML-N has again fielded Chaudhry Armughan Subhani for the constituency, who won the seat in the 2013 elections with 136,991 votes against Dr Awan who got 51,230 votes and then PTI’s candidate Ajmal Cheema who got 31,099 votes.

In 2008 elections, Dr Awan as a PPP candidate won the seat with 78,925 votes. She defeated PML-Q’s Chaudhry Ameer Hussain who got 46,372 votes and PML-N’s Idrees Bajwa who got 38,193 votes.

Differences among PTI leaders over party tickets in the district may harm the party in the elections.

In NA-72, Dr Awan is facing opposition from PTI leaders Mian Abid Javaid, Chaudhry Tahir Mehmood Hundali and Chaudhary Ameer Hussain. The PTI is divided into Dr Awan Group and Umer Dar Group.

The PTI has awarded party tickets to Mr Javaid and Mr Hundali for PP-35 and PP-36 while Dr Awan wanted to get tickets for these constituencies for Dilawar Beg and Saeed Ahmed Bhalli.

In Pasrur, the PTI awarded party ticket to Narowal-based Barrister Mansur Sarwar Khan for NA-74, ignoring local candidates retired Gen Noor Hussain, Olympian-cum-politician Asif Bajwa, Chaudhry Ghulam Abbas and retired Col Rana Sarfraz Nawaz. These angry PTI leaders have submitted their nomination papers for polls as independent candidates.

Published in Dawn, June 12th, 2018