Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR: As many as 25 candidates have submitted nomination papers with the returning officer for contesting by-election on NA-4, Peshawar-IV, where polling will be held on Oct 26.

The candidates had started submitting the nomination papers on Sept 18 and the process continued for three days till Wednesday.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held from Thursday (today).

The NA-4 seat had fallen vacant on Aug 27 due to death of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNA Gulzar Khan, who belonged to Mashogagar village in the suburbs of the capital city.

Pakistan Peoples Party has nominated Asad Gulzar, son of late Gulzar Khan.

He recently announced joining PPP in the presence of party’s co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari during his visit to Mr Gulzar’s residence in Hayatabad. Misbahuddin will be his covering candidate.

PML-N has nominated Nasir Musazai. However, the annoyed PML-N workers led by Abdul Sattar Khalil, former Peshawar district president, have fielded Hikmat Khan as their candidate. Awami National Party has nominated former deputy speaker of KP Assembly Khushdil Khan.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf has issued ticket to Arbab Aamir Ayub and Jamaat-i-Islami Wisal Farooq Jan while Khalid Waqar Chamkani is JUI-F candidate in the by-polls.

Others who have submitted nomination papers include Khizar Amin Shah, Inayatullah, Ziaur Rehman, Kifayatullayh, Mohammad Mudassir, Niazur Rehman, Farhan Qadeer, Mohammad Tanveer, Gohar Shah, Shaukat Khan, Mohammad Shafiq, Pirzada Nabi Ameen, Mubashir Khan, Waheed Alam, Samiullah, Liaquat Ali and Amanullah.

The last date for filing of appeals against the decision of the returning officer is Sept 27, while last date for decision on appeals by the appellate tribunal is Oct 2.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is Oct 3, while revised list of candidates will be published on Oct 4.

Published in Dawn, September 21st, 2017