Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


DERA GHAZI KHAN: The ruling party has won most of top slots of district council, municipal corporation and municipal committee of Dera Ghazi Khan and Rajanpur districts.

In Dera Ghazi Khan , Abdul Qadir Khosa, son of MNA Amjad Farooq Khosa, won the top slot of the Dera district council by getting 106 votes Imran Khosa of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, who got 14 votes.

Ahmed khan Leghari and Javed Qaisrani were elected vice chairmen of the district council.

In elections for the chairman and vice-chairmen, once rivals, Leghari group and Khosa group joined hands against the weaker PTI candidate.

Also, the panel of MNA Hafiz Abdul Karim won slots of mayor and vice mayor of the Dera Ghazi Khan Municipal Corporation. His kin Shahid Hameed Chandia was elected mayor and Sheikh Israr vice mayor by defeating the panel of group of MPA Syed Aleem Shah.

The winging panel got 14 votes with the help of four votes of Azad Khosa Group, led by Dost Muhammad Khan Khosa, and sealed a victory against the MPA panel, which secured 13votes.

Despite the alleged used of the district administration to pressure the dissident group, the MNA group could not break the dissident group except for the vote of Sheikh Naqeeb.

For the Taunsa municipal committee, PTI and PML-N candidates scored equal votes and their fate will be decided through a toss.

The Kot Chhuta municipal committee chairman was elected unopposed. The seat was won by the Leghari group.

In Rajanpur, PML-N candidate Abdul Aziz Dareshak and Shehzad Mirza won the seats of chairman and vice chairman by getting 55 votes against the candidate of the PTI.

In Rujhan tehsil, PML-N won the chairman office of the local municipality with nine votes by defeating PTI’s candidate who got eight votes.

The top slot of Kot Mithan Sharif was won by Hamza Kamal Farid while Qamar Kamal Akhtar was elected the chairman of Rajanpur municipality.

The Fazilpur municipality was won by the panel of the PTI as Muzamil Bokhari was elected chairman.

Published in Dawn, December 24th, 2016