Recipients of civil, military awards

24 Mar 2014


ISLAMABAD: President Mamnoon Hussain conferred civil and military awards on outstanding individuals at an investiture ceremony held at the Aiwan-i-Sadr on Sunday.

The ceremony marking the Pakistan Day was attended by the Senate chairman, National Assembly speaker, federal ministers, chairman of joint chiefs of staff committee, services chiefs, ambassadors and notables.

The awards are given in recognition of meritorious services rendered by men and women in their respective fields or for exemplary acts of gallantry.

Hilal-i-Imtiaz (military) was conferred on Vice Admiral Khwaja Ghazanfar Hussain, Vice Admiral Khan Hasham Bin Siddiqui, Air Marshal Sohail Amar, Rear Admiral Shahid Saeed, Air Vice Marshal Arshad Qudus, Rear Admiral Zafar Mahmood Abbasi, Air Vice Marshal Syed Razi Nawab, Rear Admiral Sayed Arif Ullah Hussaini, Maj Gen Akhtar Waheed, Maj Gen Mohammad Junaid, Maj Gen Salman Ali, Rear Admiral Adnan Nazir, Maj Gen Shahab Naqvi, Maj Gen Shahzad Sikandar, Maj Gen Mian Mohammad Hilal Hussain, Maj Gen Tariq Javed, Maj Gen Ghayyur Mahmood, Maj Gen Asghar Nawaz, Maj Gen Nadir Zeb, Air Vice Marshal Ijaz Mahmood Malik, Maj Gen Nazir Ahmed Butt, Maj Gen Jamil Ahmad, Maj Gen Ijaz Shahid, Maj Gen Aamir Azeem Bajwa, Maj Gen Tariq Ghafoor, Maj Gen Iftikhar Ahmed Wynne, Maj Gen Mohammad Saleem Raza, Maj Gen Abid Nazir, Maj Gen Naveed Mukhtar, Maj Gen Hidayat-ur-Rehman, Maj Gen Mohammad Arif Warraich, Maj Gen Mohammad Zafar Iqbal, Maj Gen Mazhar Saleem Khan, Maj Gen Maqsood Ahmed Abbasi, Maj Gen Javed Mahmood Bukhari, Maj Gen Anwar Ali Haider and Maj Gen Waqar Ahmed Khan.

Sitara-i-Basalat was conferred upon Lt Col Khurrum Waheed, Capt Hafeez Ullah, Commander Mohsin Farooq Khan, Lieutenant Anas Satti, N/Sub Safi Ullah, Sep Imam Hussain Shah and Clearance driver Arshad Mahmood.

Sitara-i-Basalat was conferred posthumously upon Major Abrar Ahmed, Sq Ldr Bilal Hassan Babri, Capt Fasih Babar Amin, Capt Salman Sarwar, Capt Manan-ul-Hassan, Capt Tariq Jamal, N/sub Murad Khan, Hav Mohammad Amriz, Ln Hav Mazhar Iqbal, Sep Jahangir Khan, Dy Sup of Rangers Mohammad Haneef Khan, Sep Ashiq Ali, Sep Khurram Shahzad and Sep Zuhaib Iqbal.

Among those who were awarded civil awards included Ghulam Nabi (Nishan-i-Imtiaz) in Physics, Mustafa Babur Hizlan, former Turkish ambassador (Hilal-i-Pakistan), for services to Pakistan; former Argentine Ambassador Rodolfo Jose Martin-Saravia, (Hilal-i-Pakistan), for services to Pakistan; Fayyaz Sumbal (Hilal-i-Shujaat, posthumously), gallantry; Mohammad Naeem (Hilal-i-Imtiaz) in Science-nuclear fuel; Dr Nabeel Hayat Malik (Hilal-i-Imtiaz) in mechanical engineering; Maj Gen Mohammad Tahir (Hilal-i-Imtiaz), cryptography (military application); Zafar Iqbal (Hilal-i-Imtiaz), literature; Ataul Haq Qasmi (Hilal-i-Imtiaz), literature; Irfan Siddiqui (Hilal-i-Imtiaz), journalism; and Syed Iqbal Haider (Hilal-i-Imtiaz, posthumously), for public service (human rights and Justice).

Sitara-i-Pakistan was conferred upon retired General C.S. Weerasooriya, former Sri Lankan envoy to Pakistan, for services to Pakistan.

Sitara-i-Shujaat was conferred posthumously upon Samia Noreen, gallantry; Abdul Mansoor Kakar, gallantry; Hilal Haider, gallantry; and Atizaz Hassan Bangash, gallantry.

Sitara-i-Imtiaz was granted to the late M.A. Siddiqui, education; Samiullah Khan, hockey; A. Hanif Khan, hockey; and Hassan Sardar, hockey.

President Award for Pride of Performance was conferred upon Prof Dr Mohammad Mujahid, materials engineering; Saud Sahir, journalism; Mohammad Ayub Khan (Ayub Khawar), director/producer/writer; and Misbahul Haq, cricket.

Tamgha-i-Shujaat was awarded posthumously to Mohammad Bashir, gallantry; Malik Taj Mohammad Khan, gallantry; Fazal Karim, gallantry; Balqiaz Khan, gallantry; Hayat Ullah Khan, gallantry; Naeem Ullah, gallantry; Dr Shabbir Ahmed Magsi, gallantry; Mohammad Anwar Mir, gallantry; and Zahra Shahid Hussain, gallantry.

Tamgha-i-Shujaat was awarded to Mohammad Rafique, gallantry and Mohabbat Ali Unar, gallantry.

Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was conferred upon Wang Dejie (naval constructor), for services to Pakistan; Abdul Sattar Muslim (Ain Seen Muslim), literature; and Nijat Bibi, arts (Hunza embroidery).

Tamgha-i-Khidmat was given to Park Kyo Soon (Esther), arts and culture.—APP