Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE, Dec 3: What should have been an exciting final between two evenly-matched outfits proved to be an anticlimax as relatively unknown Usman Khan Shinwari produced a five-star performance as Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) crushed Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) by 78 runs to clinch the Faysal Bank T20 Cup for Departments title on Tuesday.

Usman, the 19-year-old left-arm paceman, returned astounding career-best figures of five wickets for mere nine runs in 3.1 overs — including four wickets in eight balls at the start — to send the star-studded SNGPL reeling to 106 all out in pursuit of a challenging target after ZTBL had posted an impressive 184-3 at the Gaddafi Stadium.

The youngster — adjudged man-of-the-match as well the competition’s best bowler for grabbing 11 wickets — produced a sensational opening spell, including two wickets in the first over of the run chase.

Mohammad Rizwan was spectacularly held by wicket-keeping Shakeel Ansar, diving to his right on the third ball of the innings. SNGPL Taufiq Umar then saw his stumps spread-eagled as he attempted an ambitious drive. Both openers faced two balls each but failed to score.

Usman then sent back Ali Waqas and Misbah-ul-Haq in space of three deliveries of his second over. Ali was bowled for one, while Misbah edged a catch to Shakeel after shuffling outside the off stump.

When the Pakistan Test and ODI skipper departed for a second-ball duck, SNGPL feared the worst with the scoreboard reading a shocking nine for four. Pakistan’s limited-overs batsman/wicket-keeper Umar Akmal, on whom now so much depended, perished after a couple of aggressive strokes when he got a leading edge and was caught at third man by Usman off paceman Imran Khan for an 11-ball 19.

Saeed Ajmal, the Pakistan off-spinner, then trapped Imran Khalid leg-before in his first over for one before Khurram Shehzad was caught behind off Imran for 10 to leave SNGPL tottering at 38-7 in the seventh over.

Bilawal Bhatti, find of the recent tour of South Africa, staged a defiant counterattack with a series of fine shots that only served to extend the game. The young bowling all-rounder blasted 38 from 20 balls with five boundaries and two sixes until Imran returned to have him caught at the wicket.

The partnership between Bilawal and Yasir Shah yielded 47 in 28 balls. Yasir was stumped off Zohaib Khan for a 15-ball nine.

Saeed, who gave away just three runs in his first three overs including a wide, had his analysis a bit spoiled by tailender Imran Ali who succeeded in striking a six as the bowler’s final over went for 10 runs.

Imran finished with three for 34, while Shakeel excelled with five dismissals (four catches and one stumping). Bit the star of the night was Usman.

Earlier, ZTBL captain Imran Nazir and Sharjeel Khan made a mockery of Taufiq Umar’s decision to field at the toss by raising the 50-run stand in 33 deliveries with the openers matching each other in their stroke-play.

By the end of the mandatory six-over powerplay the total was 59-0.

Umpire Ahsan Raza raised the dreaded index finger twice in three deliveries at the start of the 10th over to adjudicate Sharjeel and Imran leg-before-wicket in medium-pacer Imran Ali’s second over after the ZTBL pair had shared a superb partnership of 85 in 55 balls.

By a coincidence Imran (39 off 26 balls) and Sharjeel (45 off 30) scored their runs at an identical strike-rate of 150 with both adorning their breezy contributions with four boundaries and a brace of sixes apiece. Three of Imran’s fours came in Samiullah Khan Niazi’s third over after which the left-arm seamer was taken off permanently with unflattering figures of 0-30.

Yasir Hameed and Haris Sohail kept the scoreboard ticking as the two put on 54 in 43 balls for the third wicket. Yasir hit 32 off 25 balls with the aid of four boundaries, while Haris prepared himself for the upcoming Twenty20 games against Afghanistan and Sri Lanka in the UAE with a sublime 58 not out. The left-hander adorned his 32-ball innings with five fours and two sixes.

ZTBL, who were the only unbeaten side in the tournament, received the winners’ trophy and Rs2 million for their well-deserved triumph. SNGPL had to settle for the runners-up trophy and Rs1 million.

PIA’s Sarfraz Ahmed was declared the best batsman for his tally of 250 runs, while PTV skipper Zohaib Ahmed earned the best all-round prize for making 141 runs and claiming 10 wickets in the event. All individual prizes were worth Rs50,000 apiece.



Imran Nazir lbw b Imran Ali 39

Sharjeel Khan lbw b Imran Ali 45

Yasir Hameed c Misbah b Bilawal 32

Haris Sohail not out 58

Shahid Yousuf not out 8

EXTRAS (W-2) 2

TOTAL (for three wkts, 20 overs) 184

FALL OF WKTS: 1-85, 2-86, 3-140.

DID NOT BAT: Shakeel Ansar, Zohaib Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Khalil, Imran Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari.

BOWLING: Samiullah Khan Niazi 3-0-30-0; Khurram Shehzad 3-0-24-0; Bilawal Bhatti 4-0-41-1 (1w); Yasir Shah 3-0-29-0 (1w); Imran Ali 3-0-27-2; Imran Khalid 4-0-33-0.


Taufiq Umar b Usman 0

Mohammad Rizwan c Shakeel b Usman 0

Ali Waqas b Usman 1

Umar Akmal c Usman b Imran 19

Misbah-ul-Haq c Shakeel b Usman 0

Khurram Shehzad c Shakeel b Imran 10

Imran Khalid lbw b Saeed 1

Bilawal Bhatti c Shakeel b Imran 38

Yasir Shah st Shakeel b Zohaib 9

Imran Ali not out 15

Samiullah Khan Niazi b Usman 2

EXTRAS (LB-4, W-7) 11

TOTAL (all out, 16.1 overs) 106

FALL OF WKTS: 1-1, 2-2, 3-9, 4-9, 5-34, 6-37, 7-38, 8-85, 9-94.

BOWLING: Usman Khan Shinwari 3.1-2-9-5 (1w); Mohammad Khalil 2-0-22-0 (2w); Imran Khan 4-0-34-3 (2w); Saeed Ajmal 4-0-13-1 (1w); Zohaib Khan 3-0-24-1 (1w).

RESULT: Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited won by 78 runs.

UMPIRES: Ahsan Raza and Shozab Raza.

TV UMPIRE: Ahmed Shahab.

MATCH REFEREE: Mohammad Anis.

MAN-OF-THE-MATCH: Usman Khan Shinwari.