Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PTI fields Asad Umar, Ayla Malik for Islamabad, Mianwali by-polls

July 01, 2013
PTI supporters attend a party rally. – File Photo
PTI supporters attend a party rally. – File Photo

ISLAMABAD: The parliamentary board of Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) has finalised the party’s electoral candidates for the upcoming by-polls to be held across the country on August 22.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan chaired the parliamentary board meeting held in Islamabad on Monday. PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi, President Javed Hashmi, Secretary General Pervez Khattak, Additional Secretary General Saifullah Khan Niazi, KP President Asad Qaisar and Punjab President Ijaz Chaudhry also attended the meeting.

Well placed sources in PTI told APP that the parliamentary board has decided to field senior party leaders Asad Umar and Ayla Malik as the party's candidates for the upcoming by-elections to be held in NA-48 Islamabad and NA-71 Mianwali.

Mianwali’s seat has been vacated by Imran Khan while NA-48 had been won by Javed Hashmi.

The PTI sources said that Noor Hayat Kalyar has been awarded the party ticket for NA-68 Sargodha while Liaquat Ranjha has been nominated for PP-118 Mandi Bahauddin.

The board also awarded tickets to Gul Bacha Khan for NA-1 Peshawar, Dr Imran Khattak for NA-5 Nowshera, Dawar Kundi for NA-24 Tank, Umar Farooq for PK-23 Mardan, Engineer Adil for PK-27 Mardan, and Malik Adnan for PK-70 Bannu.

The PTI would also support the brother of late Farid Khan from PK-42 Hangu.

Meanwhile, the PTI chief has constituted a review commission to conduct a comprehensive enquiry into the allegations of misconduct and malpractice/corruption during the ticket awarding process for candidates in Punjab.

The commission will also examine the candidate evaluation procedures and suggest ways and means to improve them. The review commission is also tasked to look into various causes which adversely affected the party’s performance during the general elections and make necessary recommendations in this respect.

The three-member commission will comprise of Tasneem Noorani as chairman while Maj Gen (Retd) Anis Bajwa and Ahmed Awais would be its members.