Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


GUJAR KHAN, May 13: Raja Javaid Ikhlas of the Pakistan Muslim League-N has won the National Assembly seat (NA-51) by defeating former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf with a huge margin.

Mr Ikhlas secured 121,069 votes against Mr Ashraf’s 67,146 votes, while Raja Farhat Faheem Bhatti of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf got 39,842 votes.

Similarly, the PML-N candidate Chaudhry Iftikhar Ahmed Warsi won the PP-3 seat by securing 58,814 votes against Chaudhry Javaid Kausar (PTI) and Raja Tariq Kiani (PPP), who got 29,702 and 22,674 votes respectively.

Raja Shaukat Aziz Bhatti of the PML-N retained his PP-4 seat by securing 54,000 votes while his opponent Chaudhry Sajid Mahmood of the PTI got 35,003 votes and Brig. (retired) M. Hassan of the PPP secured 23,424 votes.

The PML-N has won all three seats for the first time since 1997, when Chaudhry Khurshid Zaman had been elected to the National Assembly, and Chaudhry Riaz and Raja Javaid Ikhlas to the Provincial Assembly.