PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain. – File Photo

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain will send references to Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza on Friday against its eight lawmakers under defection clause.

The party spokesman on Thursday told APP that the party had served show-cause notices to Kashmala Tariq, Amir Muqam, Khadim Hussain Wattoo, Asim Nazir, Krishan Chand Perwani, Ghulam Hyder Samijo, Humayon Saifullah and Awais Ahmed Khan Leghari.

However, he added, none of the lawmakers responded to the show-cause notices till August 2, the deadline mentioned in the notices.

The spokesman said that advisor to the PM Raja Basharat, deputy secretary-information Mustafa Malik, women's wing president Mrs Farrukkh Khan, Faqir Hussain Bokhari and others remained in the PML House on Thursday but they received no response from any of the lawmakers in question.

All the eight members had violated the party's discipline in the election of Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf on June 22.

“References would be sent against all those who either failed to respond or did not clarified their position with the party chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain,” said the spokesman.

The party leadership hence has decided to forward references against all those who violated party discipline.

It is pertinent to mention here that Sumaira Malik and Dr Donya Aziz have clarified that they were abroad when the election for prime minister had taken place. Sumaira was in Saudi Arabia to perform Umrah while Donya Aziz was in the US.

Do you have information you wish to share with You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) Closed