LAHORE: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) on Thursday snatched PP-168 (Lahore–XXV) seat with a close margin from its arch rival, the PML-N, making it the first-ever win of the ruling party in any by-election in the provincial capital.

PTI’s Malik Asad Khokhar bagged 17,579, while PML-N’s Rana Khalid advocate, with the support of the PPP, got 16,892 votes, according to unofficial results.

The PP-168 seat was vacated by Khawaja Saad Rafique who was elected as MNA from NA-131 seat – a seat vacated by Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Despite heightened political tensions, the by-election had a low turnout as only 27.16pc registered voters exercised their right to franchise. Of 126,912 registered voters, only 34,471 voters cast their votes. As the election results started pouring in, the PTI workers began celebrations. Chaudhry Sarwar lauded the PTI candidate and party workers. “The success in by-election in Lahore reflects the masses’ confidence in the PTI government’s policies,” he said.

Chief Minister Usman Buzdar also lauded Asad Khokhar and said that the election results had proved that the people had full trust in the policies and leadership of Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Published in Dawn, December 14th, 2018