Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Outstanding professionals get Pride of Peshawar awards

December 21, 2017


Artists stage a short play during the ‘Pride of Peshawar’ award ceremony at Nishtar Hall on Wednesday. — White Star
Artists stage a short play during the ‘Pride of Peshawar’ award ceremony at Nishtar Hall on Wednesday. — White Star

PESHAWAR: The city district government conferred Pride of Peshawar awards on professionals on performing outstanding performance in their respective fields.

The awards were given to 75 personalities in three categories including legends, champions and youth. The squash legends Qamar Zaman, Jehangir Khan, Jansher Khan received the awards while in sports category the awards were conferred on cricketer Omar Gul, Maazullah Khan and Amjad Aziz Malik.

The award winners also included artists Najibullah Anjum, Rasheed Naz, Said Rehman Shinoo, Ejaz Mir and Ismail Shahid. Legendary Pashto singer Khiyal Mohammad also received the Pride of Peshawar award.

The awards distribution ceremony was held here in Nishter Hall on Wednesday. Those who attended the ceremony included Provincial Minister for Information Shah Farman, Minister for Environment Ishtiaq Urmar, district nazim Mohammad Asim Khan, district naib nazim Syed Qasim Ali Shah, Town-I nazim Zahid Nadeem, Town-II nazim Faridullah, culture committee chairman Meena Khan Afridi, vice chairman Wasim Akram, Alamzeb Safi, members of district council, culture director, director of sports department and a large number of women and men.

Other professionals, who got the awards, included Hamayun Khan, Ejaz Khan,

Rashid Jadoon, Syed Gilani, Mohammad Ali, Zaki Rehman, Fakhar Zaman, Bushra Farrukh, Dr Najeeb, Dr Nazeer Tabbassum, Ustad Nazir Gul, Walayat Ustad, Bushra Ejaz, Qazi Salahuddin, Lal Said, Qazi Mohammad Asif, Arshad Khan, Abdurahim, Zeek Afridi, Irfan Khan, Gul Panara, Laila Khan, Sitara Younas, Mohammad Shoaib, Nasir Ali Syed, Nazar Mohammad, Aziz Ejaz, Mushtaq Shabab, Hina Tariq, Safar Ali, Riaz Ahmad, Noshaba, Wagma, Khalid Khattak, Mohammad Shah, Imran Sultan, Zahid Khan, Murad Ali, Shahid Hussain, Gohar Zaman, Mansoor Zaman, Yasir Hameed, Usma Yousaf, Mohammad Rizwan, Ali Sajid, Marriyum Nasim, Zainab, Inayatullah, Fahad Khawaja, Laiba Ejaz, Kainaat Malik, Aqsa Hussain and Essa Zaheer.

Addressing the ceremony, Mohammad Asim Khan, the district nazim, announced that the awards would be given to outstanding personalities every year.

Speaking on the occasion, Provincial Minister Shah Farman termed distribution of the awards a change and said that the people of other districts would receive such awards in their respective cities.

Published in Dawn, December 21st, 2017