Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


NOWSHERA: The Election Commission of Pakistan has withheld results of 21 union councils in Nowshera district on the recommendation of district returning officer. These union councils also include that of Manki Sharif where Chief Minister Pervez Khattak had cast his vote in the local government election.

Liaquat Khattak, brother of the chief minister, had contested elections for the district council seat of Manki Sharif against Awami National Party candidate Jawad Khattak, the son of party leader Shahid Khan Khattak.

The official result of the said union council was withheld on a written complaint filed against it by ANP leader Shahid Khan, said party’s district president Malik Juma Khan.

Other union councils whose results had been withheld include Balu, Kurvi, Mohib Banda, Shahkot, Dag Ismailkhel, Spin Khak, Pahari Katikhel, Dairi Katikhel, Mera Akora Khattak, Adamzai, Khairabad, Inzari, Kahi, Mughalki, Zara Maina, Pir Sabaq, Rashkai, Bara Banda, Gandheri and Chowki Town of Nowshera Kalan. Other results were announced without mentioning political affiliations of the winners and the names of the runners-up.

Published in Dawn, June 26th, 2015

On a mobile phone? Get the Dawn Mobile App: Apple Store | Google Play