30 August, 2014 / Ziqa'ad 3, 1435

President to confer civil awards today

Published Mar 23, 2003 12:00am

ISLAMABAD, March 22: President Gen Pervez Musharraf will decorate recipients of civil awards, including a foreign national, at the investiture ceremony on Sunday at Aiwan-i-Sadr.

Those who will receive the awards and their fields are:

#NISHAN-I-IMTIAZ:# Dr Attaur Rehman (chemistry).

#HILAL-I-IMTIAZ:#/ Mohammad Irfan Burney (chemical engineering); Jahan Dad Khan, Lt-Gen Khalid Ahmed Kidwai, Dr Shamsh Kassim Lakha, Dr Ishrat Hussain, Lt-Gen Ghulam Ahmed Khan (posthumous), Shaukat Raza Mirza (posthumous), Mueen Afzal and Dr Maleeha Lodhi (public service); Dr Malik Hussain Mubbashar (psychiatry); Ghulam Nabi (Detonics); and Mehdi Hasan (music).

#SITARA-I-IMTIAZ:# Mohammad Farooq Awan (gallantry); Ishfaq Ahmad, and Shaukat Siddiqi (literature); Mohammad Ahmad Zuberi (journalism), Dr Tariq Javed Banuri (education); Syed Kamal Shah, Mohammad Shafi Malik and Mir Zubair Mahmood (public service); Ahmad D. Bawani (space technology); Dr Mohammad Naseer Khan (applied physics); Prof Jawad Sajid Khan (cardiology); Zia Mohyeddin (comparing); and Nayyar Ali Dada (architecture).

#PRIDE OF PERFORMANCE:# Akhtar Hussain Jafari (posthumous), Syed Imdad Hussaini, Syed Zahoor Shah Hashmi (posthumous), Dr Shahbaz Malik and Prof Mohammad Nawaz Tair (literature); Khalid Shamim, Brig Khalid Latif, Rana Abdul Qayyum, Brig Imran Rehman, Mohammad Khan Chaudhry, Mohammad Riaz Khan and Dr Nadeem Ehsan (engineering); Maqsood Ali (mining); Dr Rasul Bakhsh Rais, Dr Syed Sakhawat Shah and Mohammad Ishaq (education); Malik Abdul Qadir (farming); Barkat Ali Chaudhry (health); Bashir Ahmad and Syed Shabbir Hussain (health physics); Dr Sher Hassan (agricultural research); Prof Ghulam Ali Qureshi (biochemistry); Mohammad Arif Niaz (physics); Dr Mohammad Khurshid (health sciences); Iftikhar Ahmed (cricket commentary); Syed Afzal Hussain (sound recording); Syed Munawwar Saeed (acting); Abdul Aziz Baloch (folk music); Ghulam Mustafa (painting); Majeed Khan (Sarangi playing); Moneeza Hashmi (art); Haider Ali (boxing); Rozi Ali (mountaineering) and Mohammad Irfan Islam (weight-lifting).

#SITARA-I-KHIDMAT:# Dr Tang Mengsheng (service).

#TAMGHA-I-SHUJAAT:# Raja Umer Khattab, Lt-Col R. Abdul Salam Khan (posthumous), Mohammad Ashraf Toor (posthumous), Mohammad Atif Khan and Subedar-Maj Mohammad Kaseer (gallantry).

#TAMGHA-I-IMTIAZ:#/ Azmat Iqbal (engineering); Dr Riaz Ahmad, Mohammad Jamil Najam, Haroon Khalid and Dr Fatima Zehra Basha (education); Allah Din Bhutta (posthumous), Surriya Allahdin Paracha, Chaudhry Shafiq Ahmad, Daniyal Aziz, Zulfiqar Ali Junejo, Raja Mohammad Nawaz, Dr Syed Mohammad Ali Shah, Sharifuddin Memon, Amer Aziz, Ali Anwar Khokhar, Mohammad Naeemul Haq, Mahmudul Hasan Siddiqi and Nooruddin F. Daud (public service); Maqbool Khan Khichi (farming); Iqbal Zafar Malik (missile technology); Shahid Manzoor (science); Prof Abdullah Jan Jaffar (medicine); Amir Hamza (Taghar-making); Sohail Akram (Sohail Ahmed) (playwright/acting); Fizan Peerzada (puppetry); and Madeeha Gauhar (theatre direction).—APP

Do you have information you wish to share with Dawn.com? You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Comments (0) (Closed)