LAHORE, Jan 13: A large number of political leaders, activists and people from various walks of life attended the Qul ceremony of PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif’s younger brother Abbas Sharif.

Abbas had breathed his last on Friday.

Federal ministers Makhdoom Amin Faheem, Farooq H Naek and Ahmed Mukhtar represented the PPP and conveyed condolences to Nawaz and Shahbaz on behalf of President Asif Zardari.

Other prominent people among those who joined Qul were former president of Pakistan Rafiq Tarar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Amir Haider Hoti, ex-Senate chairman Waseem Sajjad, ex-foreign ministers Khursheed Kasuri and Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Mumtaz Bhutto, Saleem Saifullah Khan, Sirdar Sanaullah Zehri, Punjab Assembly speaker Rana Iqbal, Gen (retired) Hameed Gul, Chaudhry Zaheer, Liaquat Jatoi, Ghaus Alishah, Ameer Muqam and Rao Shahbuddin.

Saudi ambassador Ibrahim Al-Ghadeer and a delegation of UAE embassy also attended the ceremony.

Nawaz Sharif’s secretary says the PML-N chief will meet more people coming to offer condolences at Jati Umra, Raiwind, on Monday from 3pm to 5pm.

JI: Jamaat-i-Islami amir Syed Munawar Hassan along with a delegation of his party called on Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif and offered Fateha for the departed soul.

More From This Section

Mid-April rain a joy for people, misery for farmers

LAHORE: Freak rain, heavy at places, and windstorm in the plains of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Friday...

Prolonged wet spell may hit wheat

LAHORE: With wheat ready for harvest, Punjab Minister for Agriculture Farrukh Javed on Friday asked people to pray...

Aitchison principal quits

LAHORE: Aitchison College Principal Shamim Saifullah Khan has preferred resigning from his office than allowing 70...

PU VC’s wife to head Law College

LAHORE: Punjab University Law College Associate Professor Dr Shazia Qureshi has been appointed principal of the...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page