Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience



Your Name:

Recipient Email:

zaheer khan, india cricket
Zaheer Khan. -File photo by AFP

KARACHI: India announced their squads on Sunday for the upcoming limited-overs series against Pakistan, starting from December 25 in India.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) made the announcement on the same day that batting great Sachin Tendulkar quit one-day cricket.

Zaheer Khan was left out as newcomers Shami Ahmed and Bhunveshwar Kumar were included while Yuvraj Singh made a comeback to one-day cricket for the first time since the 2011 World Cup. Pragyan Ojha, Irfan Pathan and Rahul Sharma were not selected as they are out with injuries.

Legspinner Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja and Ishant Sharma were also included as Virender Sehwag retained his place.

The Twenty20 squad remained unchanged from the one that featured in the series against England, which finished 1-1.

Pakistan and India have resumed bilateral cricket ties and the series will comprise three ODIs and two T20s.

India ODI squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shami Ahmed, Amit Mishra.

India T20 squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu.

Pakistan ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Nasir Jamshed, Haris Sohail, Kamran Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar, Imran Farhat, Umar Akmal, Anwar Ali.

Pakistan T20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez (Captain), Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Sohail Tanveer, Umar Gul, Asad Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Ahmed Shahzad

Comments (13) Closed

jass Dec 23, 2012 08:04pm
why Harbhajan is not selected. He is quite better than many spinners who have been selected. Because Dhoni wanted not to choose.
Hasan Dec 23, 2012 10:16am
Pakistan need to play Anwar Ali.. give the guy his chance already!!!
Muba Khan Dec 23, 2012 05:39pm
Agree 100%
Fawad Dec 24, 2012 09:12am
What about Asad Shafiq. They never give him chance. He always performed in difficult sitiuation. He got good temprament and technique. Never had fair chance. Always been in and out. Easy target for selectors as belongs to Karachi. PCB stands for Punjab Cricket Board. Fawad
Azam Chowdhry Dec 23, 2012 03:43pm
Ahmad Shahzad and Shahid Afridi should be considered in the ODI if they perform exceptionally good in the T20. Umar Akmal should given a chance to play at number 3 in ODI and T20
Azam Chowdhry Dec 23, 2012 03:38pm
Ahmed Shahzad and Shahid Afridi should be considered for the ODI if they perform exceptionally good in the T20.
noman Dec 24, 2012 03:19pm
he is out of team because of injury
SAEED MASOOD Dec 24, 2012 01:42pm
Now is the time for Pakistan team to focus on the game and for the fans to wait and hope for the best, our team need confidence and motivation and believe that they can beat any team in the cricket world. Good luck boys.
Mr mr Dec 24, 2012 02:34am
main bhee tu hoon.... main bhee khailooon gaa....
Talha Dec 24, 2012 02:36am
He has already been given so many chances to "sit on the bench" want to see that more? :)
MIKE Dec 24, 2012 05:45am
Shoaib Malik,Umar Gul,Younus Khan,Wahab and Kamran Akmal playing again? How do you say LOSERS?
AK Dec 24, 2012 07:33am
Good to see Pakistan bringing in new bowling talent. Can't say that about batting. Malik, Afridi, and Younus Khan are spent forces who have not won a match in years for the team.
saleem Dec 24, 2012 07:51am
Anwer ali is right decesion.