Pakistani passport. – File Photo

KARACHI: Failing to submit affidavit before November 30, deadline set by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to submit declarations on dual nationality, six lawmakers including four provincial ministers of Sindh on Saturday resigned from their posts, DawnNews reported.

Among six lawmakers, four belong to Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and two to Pakistan People’s Party (PPP).

The lawmakers who resigned include Minister for Finance Murad Ali Shah, Minister for Technical Education and Mines and Minerals Sadiq Ali Memon (PPP), MPA Abdul Moid Siddiqui, MPA Askari Taqvi, IT Minister Raza Haroon and Minister for Sports Dr Mohammad Ali Shah (MQM).

A total of 16 lawmakers (including the above six) have failed to file the declarations on Friday as asked by the ECP.

Earlier on November 28, MQM leader Dr Farooq Sattar had filed a petition with the Supreme Court, challenging the authority of the ECP to collect declarations on dual nationality from lawmakers.

In the petition formulated by Barrister Aitzaz Ahsan, it has been argued that it has yet to be decided whether after 20th amendment, the election commission can ask incumbent members of parliament and the provincial assemblies to furnish fresh affidavits.

More From This Section

Journalist Hamid Mir injured in gun attack in Karachi

The incident took place on Sharae Faisal near Natha Khan area when the gunmen opened fire on his vehicle around 5:30pm

Musharraf lands in Karachi amid tight security

The port city has been on high alert with roads being cordoned off for the former president's security.

Three militants killed in Balochistan‏ violence

Three militants were killed after an attack on a FC patrol in Balochistan's Panjgoor district, an official said.

SC has learnt to bolster democracy, says chief justice

Authority of SC may be extended to a number of areas from which it has historically maintained a distance, said CJ.

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper