LAHORE, May 28: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) says the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has recommended “controversial” people to the parliamentary committee for the appointment of chief election commission (CEC).

“PML-N’s Justice Nasir Aslam Zahid (retired) is among the judges who had played a key role against chief justice Sajjad Ali Shah (retired),” said Fawad Chaudhry, adviser to the prime minister, at a press conference on Monday.

“Another PML-N’s recommended Fakhruddin G Ibrahim had appealed to the people to take to streets against the PPP government. Justice Shakirullah Jan is a serving judge of the Supreme Court therefore he should not be considered for the post,” Mr Chaudhry, flanked by Punjab PPP Information Secretary Raja Amir, said.

He said retired justices Munir A Shiekh, Amirul Mulk Mengal and Zahid Qurban Alvi, recommended by the government for the post were impartial.

He said the government was ready to accept an impartial person as the CEC even recommended by civil society. He said the PPP was in contact with different lawyers’ bodies in this respect.

Mr Chaudhry said the speaker’s ruling in the prime minister’s case could not be challenged in any court under Article 69 of the Constitution.

More From This Section

Wasa union to launch drive against new company plan

LAHORE: The Wasa Staff Welfare Union (CBA) will launch a protest drive from Monday (tomorrow) against the recent...

Target killers sent to jail for identification parade

LAHORE: An anti-terrorism court on Saturday sent six alleged target killers to jail for an identification parade. ...

Regional show at international expo

LAHORE: The Second Lahore International Tourism Expo by the Tourism Development Corporation of Punjab opened at the...

Man strangles son

LAHORE: A watchman allegedly strangled his five-month-old son in Kot Lakhpat on Saturday.Police arrested Murtaza, ...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page