ICC charges Ramdin for claiming dropped catch

Published Jun 08, 2013 01:45pm
 Ramdin “caught” Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account. -Photo by AFP
Ramdin “caught” Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account. -Photo by AFP

CARDIFF: The International Cricket Council on Saturday charged West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy.

The incident took place at the Oval, London, on Friday when Ramdin “caught” Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account.

Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out, but the decision was referred to third umpire Tony Hill following the intervention of English official Nigel Llong at square leg.

Replays showed that while Ramdin had, initially, caught the ball, he had subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp. It was eventually decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball.

The ICC said in a statement that Ramdin had been charged with a Level two breach of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game.”

Ramdin has pleaded not guilty to the offence, and a hearing will take place in London on Monday, the ICC said.

If found guilty, Ramdin could be fined between 50 and 100 percent of his match fees and/or be suspended for up to two one-day internationals.

Misbah, who went on to make 96 not out in his side's two-wicket defeat, slammed Ramdin's action after the match.

“I don't think I would be happy if my wicketkeeper did that,” the Pakistan captain said.

“If you don't know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it's not a catch you should not claim it because it's not in the spirit of the game.”

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo defended Ramdin against accusations of bad sportsmanship, insisting the 'keeper genuinely believed he had held on for long enough to claim a fair catch.

“Denesh thought he honestly had control of the ball,” Bravo said.

“He is a very honest player and history shows that we as a team don't have any stigma of negativity around us. We play the game in the right way. I don't see anything wrong with it.”


Do you have information you wish to share with Dawn.com? You can email our News Desk to share news tips, reports and general feedback. You can also email the Blog Desk if you have an opinion or narrative to share, or reach out to the Special Projects Desk to send us your Photos, or Videos.

More From This Section

Most Popular

Comments (5) (Closed)


Morphues
Jun 08, 2013 06:36pm

Very well said Mr. Bravo, "You dont see anything wrong with it". if it was done by a Pakistani player then it would be a crime and he would have been punihsed severly, Since he is not Pakistani he will be treated fairly.

Good spirit of game..!!

Noal
Jun 08, 2013 08:23pm

Pakistani wicket keeper Rashid Latif was banned for several matches after a similar incident happened in a match against Bangladesh. Lets see if ICC is honest and brings in a similar punishment for the WI wicket keeper.

PAKISFANI
Jun 08, 2013 08:59pm

THE TOP 3 BATSMAN BETTER 'SHAPE UP OR SHIP OUT' ......

Yawar
Jun 09, 2013 08:42am

Misbah has the right idea because what remains in long term memory is not who won but rather the extraordinary displays of sportsmanship. Now if the umpire gave Misbah out and Ramdin had said that he dropped the catch then that would have served him, Trinidad, and cricket far better. We get so caught up in trying to win at all cost that we lose sight of the true spirit of cricket. I also liked Misbah's statement about his expectations concerning Pakistan's wicketkeeper. This should also serve the Pakistan team better.

iftikhar saeed
Jun 09, 2013 08:55am

West Indian team the umpires and the spectators are the most dishonest lot and before the neutral umpiring came in the history of matches and the decisions made is well known to the visiting teams