Officials verify voters in Karachi. – AFP Photo/File

HYDERABAD: The field work for verification of electoral lists in Karachi will be culminated on Saturday while final lists would be compiled by March 18, said an election commission official.

Provincial Election Commissioner Sindh Mehboob Anwer said this at a media briefing on Friday along with a member of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), Justice (retd) Roshan Ali Essani.

Anwer said that after door-to-door verification of voters registered in Karachi, the acquired data would be tabulated and cross matched with the data of NADRA and the whole process will be completed by March 18.

The election commission will also add all those citizens in the electoral lists who were issued their computerized national identity cards by NADRA till January 31, said Anwer, adding that list of the issued cards will be verified by concerned election authorities.

He said that the electoral lists, which would be provided to the polling officers, would contain photographs and thumb impressions of the voters and could be verified in case of any objection.

The PEC Sindh further said that approximately 80 thousand polling stations and around 225 thousand polling booths will be set up for the upcoming general elections throughout the country.

Number of polling stations in Sindh is expected to reach 16 thousand from current 13780, among them 5500 polling stations would be set up in Karachi, he added.

Replying to a question, he said that conduct of free, fair and transparent elections at each and every polling station of the country is responsibility of the Election Commission of Pakistan.

More From This Section

Treat the disease, not the diseased, says PM on Karachi situation

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif chaired a meeting on Karachi's law and order situation at the Jinnah International Airport.

Guddu Power Plant: PM launches commissioning of additional units

The units would add another 747 MW to the national grid at a cost of Rs 60 billion.

Three SC judges named for commission to probe attack on Hamid Mir

The judges named for the commission are Justice Anwar Jamali, Justice Ejaz Afzal and Justice Iqbal Hameedur Rahman.

Women desks to be set up at all 500 KP police stations: CM

Pervez Khattak also announced the establishment of jury or jirga system at the model police stations.

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
From The Newspaper