ISLAMABAD, July 5: The Supreme Court of Pakistan has become a member of the Association of Asian Constitutional Courts and Equivalent Institutions.

The AACC is a regional forum for constitutional justice established in July 2010 in order to promote the development of democracy, rule of law and fundamental rights in Asia, to increase exchanges of information and experiences related to constitutional justice and to enhance interaction among institutions exercising constitutional jurisdiction.

The AACC unanimously accepted the membership of the Supreme Court at its meeting held in May in Seoul. Delegations of the Constitutional Courts of Indonesia, South Korea, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Uzbekistan and the Federal Court of Malaysia attended the meeting.

Lee Kang-Kook, the President of the Constitutional Court of Korea, is the first President of the association. The Constitutional Court of the Republic of Indonesia, Federal Court of Malaysia, Constitutional Court of Mongolia, Supreme Court of the Philippines, Constitutional Court of the Kingdom of Thailand, Constitutional Court of the Republic of Uzbekistan and Constitutional Court of the Republic of Korea are founding members of the association.

Other members of the association are Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation, Constitutional Court of the Republic of Tajikistan, Constitutional Court of the Republic of Turkey and Supreme Court of Pakistan.

More From This Section

Analysis: Deadlines, headlines & red lines

Despite the enormous goodwill he enjoys, Mir finds himself the catalyst of a deepening division within the media ranks.

Power tariff reduced for one month

Nepra approved a Rs1.02 per unit reduction in electricity tariff for next month due to a decline in fuel prices.

PM’s office, NA and ministries being linked by e-system

ISLAMABAD: The electronic-office replication system is being introduced in the prime minister’s office, six ...

PTI to mark anniversary of ‘rigged’ elections

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) is planning a massive rally in Islamabad on May 11 to mark the ...

Comments are closed.
Explore: Indian elections 2014
Explore: Indian elections 2014
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
How much do you know about Indian Elections?
Front Page