MQM candidate wins PS-128 re-polling

-Online/File Photo
-Online/File Photo

KARACHI: Re-polling in the provincial assembly constituency PS-128 has seen the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) candidate Waqar Hussain emerge victorius, according to unofficial results.

As per unoffical results, MQM's Waqar Hussain emerged successful after recieving 23,828 votes. Whereas his opponent Maulana Aurangzeb Farooqi from the Muttahida Deeni Mahaz recieved 23,617 votes

The MQM's Rabita Committee had alleged that armed individuals had tried to keep voters away from the polling booths through intimidation and fear. They also said that these armed individuals took away possessions and mobiles belonging to polling agents.

Polling had begun at 8am in PS-128 constituency in six polling stations. Voting eventually finished at 5pm in the afternoon. All of this was done with the heavy presence of Pakistan Army, Rangers and police personel. One armed individual was reported to have been taken into custody.

The Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaaf (PTI) had already boycotted the re-polling.

On May 11 during Election Day, a bomb attack in the constituency resulted in voting to be stopped in six polling stations.

DAWN_VIDEO - /1029551/DAWN-RM-1x1

LARGE_RECTANGLE_BOTTOM - /1029551/Dawn_ASA_Unit_670x280

Comments (12) Closed

Jun 08, 2013 10:55pm

Absolutely love it. Pakistan's democratic, secular struggle zindabad!!

Syed Ahmed
Jun 09, 2013 12:31am

The results are unfair in the absence of PTI and ANP. In all fairness their view point should have been accommodated.

Jun 09, 2013 12:34am

I assume the alleged armed individuals did not belong to MQM. Which means nobody is going to care and no investigation will be done and anyone arrested will be set free. Case closed.

Jun 09, 2013 01:41am

ANP and PTI's grievances should have been addressed

Jun 09, 2013 01:56am

@Syed Ahmed: Only fair results are when MQM loose aany thing else is not fair.

Jun 09, 2013 04:13am

@Syed Ahmed:

PTI itself boycotted the re-polling

Ghalib Khan
Jun 09, 2013 09:14am

@Syed Ahmed: What about the the polling which was done without MQM & PPP on NA and Sindh Assembly

I am no supporter of MQM but Rules of game should be the same

Jun 09, 2013 10:01am

@Syed Ahmed: ofcourse they should take part in the election but they didn't. so nobody can say that the result is unfair. what would you say about the results of NA250. PS112, & PS 113? it was similar to MQM and PPP boycot of NA250 won't count now.

Jun 09, 2013 10:17am

@Syed Ahmed: was it fair when MQM bycotted the provious re-polling, shouldnt MQM view point should have been accomodated........people like you will always be on the negative.

Danish Haider
Jun 09, 2013 11:44am

It is quite satisfying to see that a criminal, master-mind target killer Aurangzeb Farooqi has once again been rejected by people.

Lala Hassan
Jun 09, 2013 01:44pm

Three major parties PTI, ANP & PPP boycott the repolling, so fairness of election is under question but it is interesting that MQM has raised concerns of use of power! It was a close contest. These elections have given the message that even powerful group like MQM can not control the mandate of Elite class in defence, while poors mandate can b hijacked by any group at any place easily!

Jun 09, 2013 11:37pm

what a biased reporting from dawn. can they dare to share the results of re-polling of six stations rather than the complete constituency? Actually MQM got terrible beaten up in the six stations and dawn doesnt dare to give that result!! really poor effort!