PSL 2019 commentary panel to include Smith, Hayden and Ramiz

Updated 31 Jan 2019


The commentary panel announced for PSL 2019. — Courtesy:
The commentary panel announced for PSL 2019. — Courtesy:

The Pakistan Cricket Board on Wednesday announced the commentary panel for HBL PSL 2019. The panel will include former South African captain Graeme Smith, former Australian batsman Matthew Hayden and former Pakistan captain Ramiz Raja.

According to a PSL press release, the trio will accompany renowned commentators Danny Morrison, Michael Slater, Bazid Khan, Alan Wilkins and Kepler Wessels.

South African legend Smith — who has made his mark as a voice behind the mic since retiring from international cricket — will be making his PSL commentary debut this year.

“Pakistan cricket always offers a lot of excitement and I am sure HBL PSL will be no different,” said Smith while sharing his views on joining the panel.

The experts and presenters for PSL's fourth edition.
The experts and presenters for PSL's fourth edition.

“It’s a quality tournament and I have followed it over the past three years. The opportunity to commentate at this year’s HBL PSL is an exciting one and I look forward to watching talented cricketers from Pakistan playing alongside some leading international stars.”

Smith will only be in the commentary box for the first two weeks of the tournament due to prior personal commitments.

Hayden has made his name as a commentator with stints in both international and league cricket. The former Australian opening batsman will be in the PSL 2019 commentary box for the first week of the tournament.

Former Pakistan skipper Raja, who has been a part of the PSL story from the very first game, will make an expected return to the 2019 commentary panel.

“HBL PSL brings with it an air of festivity, joy and celebration,” Raja was quoted as saying in the handout.

“This year will be no different and I can’t wait to experience what the tournament has to offer this year with eight matches being held in Pakistan,” he added.

The tournament's broadcast will include pre- and post-match review shows featuring a panel of studio experts comprising ex-Pakistan captain Aamir Sohail, former Australian pacer Shaun Tait and former Australian spinner Brad Hogg.

PSL 2019 will be presented by Pakistani hosts Zainab Abbas and Fakhar-e-Alam, along with Erin Holland from Australia.

The fourth season of PSL will feature state-of-the-art coverage including Hawk-Eye, Spidercam, stump cameras, umpire cameras and analytical support from CricViz.