Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Gilani and Qaisrani win by-polls

June 06, 2010

Ladies cast their votes at a polling station during by-election of PP-206, June 5, 2010. - Photo by APP.
MULTAN Pakistan People's Party's Syed Ahmad Mujtaba Gilani defeated Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's Naghma Mushtaq Lang in the by-election in the PP-206 constituency on Saturday.

In another by-election in the PP-240 constituency, PML-N candidate Mir Badshah Qaisrani defeated independent candidate Khwaja Salahuddin Akbar.

According to the unofficial results received at about 11pm, Mr Gilani got more than 38,000 votes and Ms Lang more than 32,000 votes. Turn out remained at 40 per cent.

Although police and Rangers were deployed heavily at Jalalpur Pirwala to maintain law and order, supporters of Mr Gilani and Ms Lang clashed at several places, leaving at least five injured.

Ms Lang came under fire and her vehicle was completely damaged. In reaction, PML-N activists surrounded Mr Gilani's vehicle and attacked it with clubs and iron rods.

Information Deputy Secretary Khwaja Rizwan Alam said that mob opened fire at Mr Gilani's vehicle. “It was an attempt on Mr Gilani's life in which he suffered minor injuries on his forehead and head,” he added.

However, Jalalpur Pirwala DSP Bashir Gujar denied any kind of attack on both candidates and said that only three PML-N workers were injured in clashes.

According to unofficial results, Mr Qaisrani secured 53,188 votes and Mr Akbar 30,509 votes. Akbar was backed by the PPP and PML-Q.

Poor arrangements, slow polling, rigging allegations, aerial firing and scuffles at polling stations were the features of both contests. Polling had to be suspended several times at various polling stations, but election authorities remained unconcerned.

The supporters of a candidate attacked the vehicle of PML-Q leader Khwaja Shiraz Mehmood in the PP-240 constituency and did not let him enter the polling station in Bathi in the Tuman Qaisrani tribal area when he arrived there accompanied by independent candidate Mr Akbar.

Similarly, people belonging to the Kheitran tribe raised slogans against Mr Qaisrani when he reached at a polling station in Ritra.