Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Sweeping changes to Punjab bureaucracy

April 08, 2013

LAHORE, April 7: The Punjab government made sweeping changes to the provincial bureaucracy late on Sunday and transferred secretaries, except for four, and district coordination officers (DCOs).

The government also appointed new divisional commissioners but later withheld their notification for further adjustments.

Lists of new secretaries too were being made in the Civil Secretariat till late in the night and this top level administrative reshuffle was expected anytime.

Mr Sethi had told journalists earlier in the evening that except for schools, home, and finance, the secretaries of other departments would be changed.

SECRETARIES: Services Secretary Mubashar Raza was the first to go on Saturday night. The reshuffle was being made on Sunday by his successor Afzal Latif under the supervision of Chief Secretary Javed Iqbal.

Raza was posted Higher Education Secretary in place of Shahid Tarar who was made an OSD.

Local Government Secretary Sikandar Sultan Raja was made an OSD and was replaced by Ali Raza Bhutta.

Food Secretary Irfan Ali was made an OSD and was replaced by C&W Secretary Azam Suleiman.

Excise Secretary Zahid Saeed was transferred and posted irrigation secretary.

I&C Secretary Momin Agha was made an OSD and was replaced by Punjab Small Industries Managing Director Farhan Aziz Khawaja.

Mian Nazir was posted as BoR Member (Colonies).

COMMISSIONERS: Divisional commissioners were also changed. But the names were withheld reportedly for corrections.

The earlier announced are: Nasim Nawaz (Lahore), Syed Ali Murtaza (Multan), Mushtaq Ahmad Anjum (Gujranwala), Abdullah Sumbal (Sahiwal), Hamid Yaqoob Sheikh (Bahawal-pur), Khalid Masood Chaudhry (Rawalpindi), Iqbal Ahmad Chohan (Sargo-dha) and Tariq Naguib Najmi (Faisalabad).

DCOs: The changed DCOs were posted by the previous Shahbaz Sharif government. A majority of them was made OSDs.

Lahore DCO Noorul Amin was made an OSD and was replaced by Bahawalnagar DCO Syed Rizwan Mehboob.

Kasur DCO Muhammad Ehsan Wahid was made an OSD and was replaced by Lahore AC Consolidation Khalid Mehmood Sheikh. Sheikhupura DCO Ali Jan Khan was made OSD and was replaced by Additional Secre-tary Home Muhammad Asif.

Nankana DCO Dr Usman Ali Khan was made OSD and was replaced by Additional Secretary Local Government Ghulam Farid.

Faisalabad DCO Muhammad Amin Chaudhry was made an OSD and was replaced by Gujranwala DCO Najam Shah.

Rawalpindi’s Barani Areas Development Director General Tariq Javaid Malik was transferred and posted as Gujranwala DCO.

Sialkot DCO Zahid Salim Gondal was made OSD and replaced by Lahore Parking Company Managing Director Shakil Ahmad.

Gujrat DCO Nawazish Ali was made OSD and was replaced by Lodhran DCO Asif Baryal Lodhi.

BoR’s Director Record Tariq Mehmood was posted as Lodhran DCO.

Narowal DCO Ahmad Ali Kamboh was made OSD and was replaced by Punjab Board of Liquidation’s Additional Secretary Muhammad Yasrib Ali.

Mandi Bahauddin DCO Tariq Mehmood was made OSD and was replaced by Faisalabad AC Consolidation Imtiaz Niazi.

Hafizabad DCO Dr Farrakh Masood was posted as Toba Tek Singh DCO.

Land Record Information’s Deputy Project Director Manzir Iqbal was posted as Hafizabad DCO.

Rawalpindi DCO Saqib Zafar was made OSD and replaced by Lahore Ring Road Authority’s Chairman Rashid Mehmood.

Jhelum DCO Mirza Mehmoodul Hasan was made OSD and replaced by Education Department’s Additional Secretary Maqbool Ahmad.Attock DCO Usman Ahmad Chaudhry was transferred and posted as Bahawalnagar DCO.

BoR’s Secretary Settlement Muhammad Iqbal was posted as Attock DCO.

Chakwal DCO Ahmad Aziz Tarar was made OSD and replaced by Gujranwala ACE Director Yawar Hussain.

Sargodha DCO Azmat Mehmood was made OSD and was replaced by Lahore ACE Director Waqas Ali Mehmood.

Jhang DCO Muhammad Shahid Naz was made OSD and was replaced by Khushab DCO Maqbool Ahmad.

Faisalabad ACE Director Amir Ejaz Akbar was posted as Khushab DCO.

Mianwali DCO Zulfikar Ahmad was made OSD and was replaced by S&GAD’s Additional Secretary Admin Dr Ahmad Javaid Qazi.

Chiniot DCO Rana Muhammad Arshad was made OSD and was replaced by Rahim Yar Khan DCO Nabil Javaid.

Bhakkar DCO Khalid Salim was posted as Rahim Yar Khan DCO.

Rawalpindi AC Consolidation Mumtaz Hussain Zahid was posted Bhakkar DCO.

Multan DCO Nasim Sadiq was made an OSD and was replaced by Okara DCO Gulzar Hussain Shah.

Vehari DCO Ehsan Bhutta was posted Okara DCO and was replaced by PHA Multan Managing Director Mehmood Javaid.

Ikramullah was posted as Layyah DCO, Imran Sikandar Bahawalpur DCO, and Ziaullah Rajanpur DCO.

Also, the government transferred 14 senior officials to Islamabad who were the main members of the Shahbaz government.

They included P&D Chairman Javaid Aslam, Senior BOR Member Sami Saeed, former secretary to CM Dr Tauqir Shah, former commissioners Abdul Jabbar Shaheen and Nabil Awan, former information secretary Mohiyuddin Wani, former secretary of coordination to CM Fawad Hasan Fawad, Dr Muhammad Ajmal, Secretary Tahir Sarfraz Awan and LDA DG Ahad Cheema.