Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Many in the run for ANP tickets in Swabi

SWABI, Dec 13: There is a tug-of-war among local Awami National Party leaders over nominations for the next elections. Swabi has six provincial assembly and two National Assembly seats.

It is learnt that provincial minister Zar Shaid Khan, Sheharyar Khan, the runner-up in the 2002 election, and Arshad Khan, who recently quit Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party to join ANP, are in the running for the party ticket in NA-12, Swabi-I constituency.In NA-13, Swabi-II, many stalwarts are striving for the party’s candidature and former banker Sarwar Khan is noted among them.

Pervez Khan was elected MNA on ANP ticket from this constituency in 2008 but currently, the party is not that strong there.

Provincial minister Zar Shaid, who won election in PK-31, Swabi-1, is again aspirant of ANP ticket but the party’s general secretary in the constituency Tamraiz Khan and general secretary Mumtaz Ali have reduced his chances of being the candidate in the next elections by canvassing for their own candidacy.

Gul Zamin Shah, who contested the last election as an independent candidate, is also in the running for ANP ticket.

Analysts believe if ANP gives ticket to Zar Shaid yet again, then he might not be reelected because voters in this constituency are often seen rejecting old candidates.

In PK-32, Swabi-11, Ameer Rehmanullah, son of former MNA Rehmanullah, is the only candidate for the ANP ticket.

Mr Rehmanullah, also the ANP district president, are reported to have good relations with party president Asfandyar Wali, Senator Azam Hoti and other influential leaders.

As for PK-33, Swabi-111, former provincial minister Awal Sher Khan, former MPA Shoaib Khan and former nazim of the union council Kalu Khan Ashfaq Khan are vying for the party ticket.

The position of all three is strong but the former two, who belong to Yar Hussain village, from where ANP have picked candidates for the constituency five times, are stronger.

Some believe it is now the turn of Kalu Khan to be fielded by ANP in the elections.

In PK-34, Swabi-IV, Rais Khan, Amjid Ali and Javid Khan are in the running for ANP ticket.

The former two contested election in the same constituency in 2002 and 2008 respectively but suffered defeat.

Mr Javid is the local information secretary of ANP but Mr Amjid is likely to be the candidate of the party over his good rapport with provincial and central leadership.

At the same time, there are voices in the party against the fielding of ‘losers’ again.

In PK-35, Swabi-V, MPA Sikandar Irfan and Mohammad Islam are vying for the party ticket. Both have a good chance to get the candidacy.

As for PK-36, Swabi-VI, MPA Sarfraz Khan Jadoon and Noor Rehman, brother of late Hanif Khan Jadoon are in the running for ANP ticket.

Mr Sarfraz stands a good chance to get the ticket again and if this happens, then it will be the third time in a row. He has been elected in the constituency for the second time.