Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE, July 29: The Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad panel won on Sunday most of the important slots of the Lahore Akhbar Farosh Union (Newspaper Sellers Union) in annual elections for 2012-13, defeating the rival Malik Muzaffar group.

According to results, Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad secured 573 votes for the president slot defeating Malik Muzaffar who obtained 285 votes. Malik Yaseen Babar won union’s secretary-general office defeating Sajjad Azam. Malik Imtiaz Awan, Tariq Hanif, Syed Waris Ali, Malik Tanveer Ahmad, Farooq Ahmad and Muhammad Zubair were elected joint secretary, senior vice-president, vice-president, secretary-finance, secretary-information and office secretary.

According to Chaudhry Ashiq Ali, election adhoc committee in charge, of the 1,410 votes, 874 were cast at Akhbar Market (Hospital Road).

After the results, winning panel’s supporters danced on drumbeats and chanted slogans in favour of their candidates. All Pakistan Akhbar Farosh Union Secretary-General Tikka Khan Abbasi, Muhammad Aziz Satti and Sultan Tanoli monitored the election and congratulated the Chaudhry Nazir Ahmad panel. They hoped that the office bearers would work for the improvement of newspaper hawkers in Lahore.