Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


LAHORE, Feb 16: Twelve candidates among a total of 25 for Senate election from Punjab have been elected unopposed, according to unofficial results.

Aitzaz Ahsan of the PPP and Ishaq Dar of the PML-N have been elected on technocrat seats, while Kamran Michael of the PML-N has been elected on minorities seat.

The unopposed elected senators on general seats include Zafarullah, M Hamza and Rafique Rajwana of the PML-N, Babar Awan and Aslam Gill of the PPP and Kamil Ali Agha of the PML-Q.

Meanwhile, Khalida Qureshi of the PPP and Nuzhat Sadiq of the PML-N have been elected unopposed on women seats.

On these two seats reserved for women, four candidates -- Nuzhat Sadiq (PML-N), Khalida Parveen (PPP), Najma Ahmed (IND) and Anusha Rehman Ahmad Khan (PML-N) – had filed papers.

The nomination papers of Mohsin Leghari of the PML-Q were rejected whereas Yasmin Akhtar (wife of Babar Awan), Bilal Butt and Mohammad Sarwar of the PML-N withdrew their papers.

Polling for other Senate seats will be held in the Punjab Assembly next month.-APP