Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


Services of 22,129 employees to be regularised

December 16, 2011

ISLAMABAD, Dec 16: The federal government has decided to regularise the services of 22,129 employees working on the contract basis and daily wages in various government departments, it was officially announced on Friday. The regularisation of the employees was decided by a sub-committee of the cabinet which met under the chairmanship of federal Minister for Religious Affairs Syed Khurshid Shah.

The sub-committee ordered regularisation of 183 employees of the National Highways Authority and Motorway Police, 215 employees of the Civil Aviation Authority, 173 of the Associated Press of Pakistan, 72 of the offices of Islamabad Capital Territory, 413 of the Ministry of National Food Security, including 13 employees of the Fisheries Development Board, 139 employees of Live Stock Daily Development Board and 215 employees of Pakistan Agriculture Research Council.

The sub-committee also approved regularisation of 20,719 contract/daily wages employees of the Ministry of Water and Power, including 793 employees of Qesco and 3,598 employees of Wapda.

The cabinet sub-committee directed ministries of human resources, postal services, and port and shipping to bring up cases of all contract/daily wage employees who had not yet been regularised in the next meeting of the sub-committee.

The sub-committee also directed the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting to present cases of contract/daily wage employees of PTV and Pemra for regularisation.

It also directed the cabinet division and the ministry of interior to bring up cases of all employees of the CDA and Nadra (National Database and Registration Authority) who have completed one year in service on contract/daily wage for regularisation.

The cabinet sub-committee took notice of the absence of Pemra chairman from the meeting and expressed displeasure.

Federal Ministers Riaz Hussain Peerzada and Mir Changez Jamali and Chairman of People's Labour Bureau Chaudhry Manzur Ahmed attended the meeting.