Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


A view of Sindh Assembly session in progress. — File photo

KARACHI, Nov 18: Although the Sindh Assembly condemned on Friday people levelling allegations and using indecent language against President Asif Ali Zardari and MQM chief Altaf Hussain and demanded a severe action against them, it removed controversial PPP leader Dr Zulfikar Mirza’s name from the final resolution to avert an imminent controversy.

The assembly, which met after July 13 with acting Speaker Shehla Raza in the chair, in its day’s proceedings offered Fateha for Begum Nusrat Bhutto and others, including former Sindh chief secretary A.K. Lodhi.

The house, which also observed one-minute silence for three slain Hindu doctors, after adopting two resolutions rose for the day at 12.30pm to reassemble at 10am on Monday.

When the house was called to order at 11.55am against its scheduled time of 9.30am, lawmakers of the Pakistan Muslim League (Functional) and the Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid-i-Azam) left the house in protest over the inordinate delay in the session as leaders of PPP and MQM lawmakers were busy in consultation for carrying out house proceedings smoothly and to avoid a split in the house over any of the two resolutions.

Both resolutions, allowed to move under Rule 211 after suspension of all relevant rules, were passed unanimously without any speeches as had been agreed beforehand between the PPP and MQM leadership to prevent a controversy.

The resolution expressing full confidence in the leadership of President Zardari and MQM chief Altaf Hussain was signed by six MQM MPAs — Muzamil Qureshi, Heer Soho, Aleem-ur-Rehman, Syed Manzar Imam, Wasim Ahmed and Syed Waseem Hussain — and was read out by Ms Soho.

The resolution reads: “This House strongly condemns such people who have leveled false, frivolous and baseless allegations, and used indecent, unethical and provocative language against our beloved leaders Mr Asif Ali Zardari, President of Pakistan and co-Chairman of PPP and Mr Altaf Hussain, Founder leader of MQM and demand severe action.”

In the initial resolution, which was filed with the assembly secretariat on Friday morning, the name of Dr Zulfikar Mirza was mentioned but before proceedings of the session PPP leaders Sadar Nadir Magsi, Agha Siraj Durrani, Manzoor Wassan and Ayaz Soomro went to the chamber of MQM Parliamentary Party leader Syed Sardar Ahmad and persuaded him to amend it for its unanimous adoption.

After mutual consultation, an agreed draft was approved and it was decided that the amended resolution would be moved without any speech lest unguarded words by speakers should spoil the conciliatory spirit of the house.

In the other resolution, moved by Law Minister Ayaz Soomro, tribute was paid to Begum Nusrat Bhutto, recalling her services to the cause of democracy and rights of the people.

The resolution reads: “The provincial Assembly of Sindh offers its deepest condolence on the sad demise of Begum Nusrat Bhutto (Madre Jamhooriat) and pay rich tributes to her for the services rendered by her for the cause of democracy and rights of people. She was an icon of democracy, champion of rights for oppressed and downtrodden people and empowerment of women. She was a woman of substance and many graces. She had a strong personality as a leader, mother and wife and served as a motivating force and source of strength not only for the family but also for entire nation. She struggled relentlessly for the restoration of true democracy in Pakistan. The people of the entire country have suffered an irreparable loss on her sad demise. This house also offers condolences to her daughter Sanam Bhutto, son-in-law Janab Asif Ali Zardari, Hon’able President of Pakistan and members of his family and the workers of PPP. May God rest her soul in Jannat-ul-Firdous.”

Earlier, soon after the house was called to order behind two hours and 25 minutes at 11.55 am, the acting speaker announced the panel of chairmen comprising Dr Sikander Mandhro, Shama Mithani, Sabra Begum and Nuzhat Pathan.

The other business on the order of the day included a privilege motion of Mir Muhammad Hassan Khan Talpur and question hour on the Auqaf and tourism departments, which could not be taken up as Friday prayer time was approaching.