Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PML-N leader Nawaz Sharif was elected unopposed as party president. - File photo

ISLAMABAD: Nawaz Sharif was elected unopposed president of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Head of Party's Election Committee, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra announced it at Party's General Council meeting held here at Convention Centre on Wednesday.

Outgoing Acting PML-N President, Javed Hashmi had proposed the name of Nawaz Sharif while Party Chairman, Raja Zafar-ul- Haq supported the nomination.

Jhagra informed the General Council that no other candidate filed the papers for the slot of party President.

He said that according to elections result, Javed Hashmi, Sartaj Aziz, Sardar Yaqoob Nasir, Raja Farooq Haider and Syed Ghous Ali Shah have also been elected Senior Vice Presidents.

Ahsan Iqbal and Mushahid Ullah Khan were elected as Party's Deputy Secretary General and Secretary Information respectively.

All the new office bearers were elected unopposed as a consensus was already developed by the party's leadership regarding the reorganization of party.

The General Council of PML-N also approved the amendments in the Party Constitutions. Chief Minister Punjab, Mian Shahbaz Sharif, Party's Members of National and Provincial Assemblies, more than 1,500 members of PML-N General Council from Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhah, Balochistan, Kashmir, Gilgit-Baltistan and Islamabad attended the meeting.