Alamgir stuns Kamran

October 02, 2002


ISLAMABAD, Oct 1: Unseeded Alamgir Wali sprang a surprise Tuesday as he knocked out 6th seed Syed Kamran Rizvi 6-4, 6-4 to qualify for the quarterfinals of the ITF Pakistan International Junior Tennis Championship at the Islamabad Club.

Kamran was the only seed to fall as all others went through to the last eight scoring victories over their respective opponents.

Top seed Shahzad Khan faced little difficulty in beating Babar Ali Khan 6-1, 6-1 but Munir Ashiq was made to sweat by Dubai-based player Fahad Khan before winning 7-6, 6-1.

Fahad, led 5-4 in the first set but was unlucky to sprain his ankle. Because of this he lost concentration and conceded the set 7-6. Fahad was unable to put up the kind of show he had displayed in the first set as Munir beat him 6-1.

Coached by former Indian Davis Cup player Zeeshan Ali, Fahad trains in Dubai where his father Tariq Khan is a leading businessman.

In the doubles competition, Nishendiran NS and Godmanne Harshana from Sri Lanka defeated third seeds Adnan Khan and Muteeb Pasha 6-2, 6-4 while Almagir Wali and Manzoor Khan scored an upset victory over 4th seeds Babar Ali Khan (Pakistan) and Sohan Patrick (Sri Lanka) 5-7, 7-5, 7-6 (6).

Results-Boys singles: Shahzad Khan bt Babar Ali Khan 6-1, 6- 1; Munir Ashiq bt Fahad Khan 7-6, 6-1; Kirati Sirbutwong (Thailand) bt Zeeshan Khan 6-0, 6-1; Muteeb Pasha bt Suleman Bashir 6-7, 6-3, 6-1; Wasif Cheema bt NA Nishendiran (Sri Lanka) 6-1, 1-6, 6-0; Shahrukh Niazi bt Ahmed Ali 6-1, 6-0; Alamgir Wali bt Kumail Rizvi 6-4, 6-4; Harshana Godamanne (Sri Lanka) bt Omid Souri (IRI) 6-1, 6-2.

Girls singles first round: Zhang Shaul (China) bt Disilva Nawchali (Sri) 6-1, 6-2; Buaklee Prim (Thailand) bt Ayesha Mansoor (Pakistan) 6-0, 6-0; Maira Rahim bt Zarmeen Shoeb 6-2, 6- 1; Saba Aziz bt Madheea Ansari 6-0, 6-0; Paramanathan Jancy (Sri Lanka) bt Mehak Khan 6-0, 6-0; Shuang Wu (China) bt Huma Ajma 6- 0, 6-0; Omer Zahra bt Sarman Shahid 6-3, 6-0; Nida Rahim bt Sara Mansoor 6-0, 6-0

Boys doubles: Tanveer Ashir-Usman Yousaf bt Ahmad Ali-Amir Ali Khan 6-1, 7-5; Alamgir Wali-Manzoor Khan bt Babar Ali-Shoan Patrick 7-5, 5-7, 7-6 (6); Kirati Siributwong-Narucha Wannabovorn bt Farshid Kh. Varposhti-Souri Omid 6-1, 6-1; Shahid Afridi-Aftab Anwar bt Shahrukh Niazi-Janisar Ahmed 6-4, 0-6, 6-4; Nishendiran NS-Godmanne Harshana bt Adnan Khan-Muteeb Pasha 6-3, 6-4; Danish Ahmed-Suleman Bashir bt Fahad Khan-Zeeshan Khan 6-1, 6-3.