Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


APC vows to defend blasphemy law

January 05, 2011


KARACHI, Jan 5: An all-parties conference on Wednesday urged the people of Pakistan to remain vigilant to foil conspiracies against the blasphemy law. The APC, which was convened by the Jamaat-i-Islami and attended by representatives of over a dozen religious and political parties at Idara Noor-i-Haq, called upon the president and the prime minister to make a clear-cut announcement from the floor of the house that they would not bring any amendment to the blasphemy law and to dissolve a committee formed to suggest changes in the law.

A resolution adopted by the APC urged the government to withdraw a private member bill submitted by MNA Sherry Rehman in the national assembly and to immediately release the family members of the assassin of Punjab Governor Salman Taseer.

They also demanded that the assassin, Malik Mumtaz Qadri, should not be tortured.

The resolution observed that Tahaffuz Namoos-i-Risalat was the most important matter and integral part of the faith of all Muslims, as the love for the Prophet (peace be upon him) was over and above all worldly love including love for children, life and property.

It said that this was a high time for Muslims in Pakistan to demonstrate their unity and all political parties should raise the slogan that despite their weakness in the practice of the faith they would sacrifice their lives to protect the sanctity of the Prophet (peace be upon him).

The resolution welcomed the decision of the Islamabad Bar Council to contest the case against Mumtaz Qadri free of cost.

It said that the ulema also reflected the sentiments of the Muslims by refusing to lead the funeral prayer of the slain Punjab governor.

The APC was presided over by Maulana Asadullah Bhutto and attended by Muhammad Hussain Mehanti; Qari Muhammad Usman of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F; Qazi Ahmad Noorani and Siddique Rathore of the JUP; Muhammad Naseemuddin of Tanzeem-i-Islami; Naveed Qamar of Jamaatud Dawa; Maulana Abdul Rauf of Jamiat Ittehad-ul-Ulema; Syed Zia Abbas of the National People's Party; Mufti Muhammad Usmanyar Khan of JUI-S; Syed Ausat Ali of PAT; Mehfoozyar Khan of the Awami Muslim League; Maulana Jafar Ali Subhani of Tehreek-i-Islami; Muhammad Jehangir Siddiqui of Fidaiyan-i-Khatme Nabuwat; Rafi-ur-Rehman Noorani of Markazi Jamaat Ahle Sunnat; Muhammad Afzal Sardar of Markazi Jamiat Ahle Hadith; Qazi Ehsan Ahmad of Alami Majlis Khatme Nabuwat; Mir Nawaz Khan Marwat of Motamar Al-Alam-i-Islami and Ghulam Sabir of the Pakistan Democratic Party.