Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


26 ministers of state take oath

September 05, 2004


ISLAMABAD, Sept 4: One federal minister and 26 ministers of state were inducted into the cabinet on Saturday, bringing the total number of ministers to 59.

The ministers were administered the oath by President General Pervez Musharraf at a ceremony at the Aiwan-i-Sadr that was attended among others by Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and PML president Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain.

With the induction of Sikandar Hayat Bosan, the number of federal ministers has swelled to 33 in addition to 26 ministers of state. Chairman Parliamentary Committee on Kashmir Hamid Nasir Chattha and National Reconstruction Bureau chairman Daniyal Aziz have been given the status of federal ministers.

The new ministers are: Sikandar Hayat Bosan, Federal Minister; Ministers-of-state Dr Aamer Liaquat Hussain, Ali Asjad Malhi, Ali Nawaz Khan Maher, Malik Amin Aslam Khan, Engr Amir Muqam, Anisa Zeb Tahirkheli, Ghulam Bibi Bharwana, Hamid Yar Hiraj, Hina Rabbani Khar, Ishaq Khan Khakwani, Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar, Muhammad Ali Durrani, Muhammad Ali Malkani, Sardar Muhammad Asif Nakai, Muhammad Naseer Khan Mengal, Muhammad Raza Hayat Harraj, Engr Muhammad Shahid Jamil Hashmi, Omar Ayub Khan, Chaudhry Shahid Akram Bhinder, Dr Shahzad Waseem, Begum Shahnaz Shaikh, Sumaira Malik, Tariq Azim Khan, Umar Ahmad Ghuman, Chaudhry Zafar Iqbal Warriach and Zahid Hamid.

Later at a meeting, Prime Minister Aziz asked the cabinet members to prepare an agenda of targets for 100 days.