Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


HYDERABAD, Aug 26: The Haq Parast Group of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement registered a clean sweep in the second phase of local government polls held on Thursday in the newly created Hyderabad district to stake claim for the Zila nazim’s slot and taluka nazims of City and Latifabad.

Unofficial results put the HPG in a comfortable position in the district. The group claimed to have grabbed 35 of the 52 union councils. In Taluka city it lost one seat, UC-20, where the joint panel of MMA-backed Ittehad-i-Millat Group (IMG) and PPP’s Awam Dost Panel won with a narrow margin.

JAMSHORO: The PPP-backed Awam Dost Panel (ADP) claimed to have grabbed 16 seats in the newly created Jamshoro district where the main contest was between Malik Asad Sikandar’s ADP group, PML’s Khushhal Pakistan Panel and Sindh Dost Panel (SDP) of Syed Jalal Mehmood Shah. Unofficial results on Friday revealed that 16 seats were grabbed by the ADP and five each by the KPP and the SDP.

A recounting was in progress on Friday night in the union councils of Sonh Walhar-II and Manjhand of Kotri and Manjhand taluka respectively.

MATIARI: The ruling coalition partners had an edge over the PPP-backed Awam Dost Panel in Matiari district. According to unofficial results, the coalition-backed candidates for the nazim and naib nazim have bagged 10 seats and the Awam Dost Panel nine. There are 19 councils in the district. In the 9 UCs of Matiari taluka, only three nazim seats, of Nasarpur, Faqir Nooh Hothiani and Shah Alam Wasi, have been won by the Awam Dost Panel whereas the candidates of Functional Muslim League have won in the remaining six councils.

In taluka Saeedabad, the PML-F bagged the nazim (plus naib nazim) seats in UC Saeedabad and UC Zerpir, and the ruling coalition won the seat in UC Shahmir Rahu.

In the remaining council of Bhalledino Kaka, the nazim-naib nazim pair of Makhdoom House (ADP) emerged successful. Hala is the only taluka in Matiari district where Awam Dost candidates have emerged victorious in five of the six union councils. The sixth UC Bhitshah was bagged by the supporters of Hala House.

TANDO MOHAMMAD KHAN: In 16 councils of the district, the PML- backed Khushhal Pakistan panel has emerged as the single largest group. According to unofficial results, the KPP bagged 9 seats of nazims and naib nazims and the PPP-backed Awam Dost Panel won only two seats. Four seats were bagged by the Syed group and one seat went to the PML-F backed pair of Faqir Dost, an ally of the government.

NAWABSHAH: Out of the 51 union councils of Nawabshah district, the PPP-backed Awam Dost Panel (ADP) grabbed 26 seats of nazim- naib nazims and the government backed Nawabshah Awami Ittehad (NAI) won 23. One independent candidate returned unopposed from UC Bhoora and result of UC Jhuro Khan Shar was withheld.

In taluka Daur, of the 14 seats, the PPP-backed ADP won 10, PML-backed NAI three and the result of UC Jhuro Khan Shar was with held following interference by some people during the vote count Of the 13 seats of taluka Nawabshah, ADP grabbed eight and Haq Parast Group five. In taluka Sakrand, out of total 12 seats, ADP won six seats, NAI four and Nawabshah United Front one. One independent candidate returned unopposed from UC Bhoora. In taluka Doulatpur, NAI grabbed 9 seats and the ADP three.

DADU: The Dadu Ittehad Panel (DIP) has emerged victorious by winning 35 UC nazim seats while ADP candidates bagged 15 seats and two nazim seats went to independent candidates. Elections were held in 52 union councils of the district.

In taluka Mehar, the DIP bagged 14 UC seats out of 15, while the ADP won one UC seat. Of the 12 UCs in taluka Khairpur Nathan Shah, the DIP won 10 and ADP two.

In Dadu taluka, the Dadu Ittehad won seven seats of nazims, ADP won seven and independent one.

In taluka Johi, the ADP won six out of 10 seats and the DIP three. An independent candidate won one UC nazim seat. Ruling PML candidates and supporters of federal minister Liaquat Ali jatoi contested LB elections from the platform of Dadu Ittehad Panel.

BADIN: The PML-backed Khushal Pakistan Panel (KPP) has emerged victorious; bagging 27 UC seats out of 46. Seven seats were won by the PPP-backed ADP, eight seats by PML-backed Faqir Dost Panel, three by Rajooni Ittehad and one by an independent candidate.

According to unofficial results, four nazim - naib nazim pairs including three of KPP were declared elected unopposed.

KHAIRPUR: The PML-F backed Khairpur Dost Panel (KDP) bagged majority of UC nazim seats in the district of Khairpur. According to unofficial results of the 76 UCs of the district, KDP candidates were declared elected unopposed on seven seats. The KDP has unofficially been declared successful in majority of the 69 union councils where elections were held on Thursday.

In taluka Khairpur, ADP has grabbed six of 14 UCs and KDP five. Results of two UCs were received.

SHIKARPUR: The government-backed Mahar-Shaikh-Kamario Ittehad was leading on Friday, having secured 28 nazim - naib nazim seats out of 50 in the district.

According to unofficial results, the Independent group won two seats and the Bijarani and Teghani group got one.

Mahar-Shaikh-Kamario Ittehad claimed securing over 250 seats of councillors of all categories in the 50 union councils while the Awam Dost Panel leaders claimed 200 seats.