News Brief

14 Feb 2020


Irfan, Naveed elected SBSA president, secretary

KARACHI: Irfan Moton and Naveed Kapadia were unanimously elected as president and secretary respectively of the Sindh Billiards and Snooker Association (SBSA) for a term of four years during the general body meeting held at a local hotel on Wednesday.

The general body was convened by the parent body, the Pakistan Billliards and Snooker Federation (PBSF) who also conducted elections in compliance with the the honourable Sindh High Court order on a petition filed by local cueists.

According to PBSF, the honourable Sindh High Court in its order on Dec four, 2019 of the constitution petition No D-281 of 2019, had appointed PBSF as administrator to regulate the affairs of the provincial body and form a truly representative body for the provincial players of the game.

The PBSF had appointed its secretary Zulfiqar Ali Ramzi as administrator to resolve the issue in accordance with the order. The newly elected president Irfan, who is also treasurer of the PBSF, has succeeded Jamil Sakrani while Naveed has come in place of long-time serving Sikandar Badruddin. Naveed is also international referee and PBSF media coordinator.

According to sources, some 15 people attended the general body meeting.


Mohammad Irfan Moton (president), Nisar Ali Bhagat (vice-president), Naveed Kapadia (honorary secretary), Abdul Ghaffar Tayab (associate secretary), Mohammad Ashfaque Ghory (treasurer). Mohammad Shafiq, Sohail Ahmed Marfani, Mohammad Siddiq Ragadia and Mohammad Hussain (members).—Anwar Zuberi

Al Nadi Al Burhani seal third straight win

KARACHI: Al Nadi Al Burhani Schooling System maintained their unbeaten run in the seventh Bilal Bhaty Memorial Inter-school/collegiate T20 cricket tournament with a comprehensive eight-wicket rout of Beaconhouse School PECHS Campus at their own ground on Wednesday.

Beaconhouse were bowled for 123 before Al Nadi Al Burhani reached their third straight triumph in Group ‘A’. St Paul’s School finished second with two wins in three matches, while Beaconhouse won just one game and Alpha College lost all three fixtures.

In the other two pools, the contenders for the knockout stage will still to be decided.

Summarised scores:

BEACONHOUSE SCHOOL PECHS CAMPUS 123 in 20 overs (Saud Salah 30, Mustafa Ali 22;Abbas Mohammad 2-23, Hussain Moiz 2-24); AL NADI AL BURHANI SCHOOLING SYSTEM 124-2 in 17.5 overs (Mustansar Bhai 34, Hussain Moiz 26, Ibrahim Murtaza 21).—Sports Reporter

Bahria Club, Usman Club reach Kashmir Cup final

Karachi: Bahria Club and Usman Cub have defeated their respective opponents in the semifinals to reach the final of ongoing Kashmir Cup Junior Basketball tournament being organized by Karachi Basketball Club in collaboration with Usman Club at Abdul Nasir Basketball Court here at Arambagh on Wednesday night.

In the first semifinal, Usman Club beat Patrician Stars 48-45 in a thrilling contest. Hassan Iqbal 18 points was the leading scorer for the winners side.

He was well assisted by Humayun 13 points and Faizan Yousuf 11 points. In the second semifinal, Bahria Club easily overcame Falcon Club 49-42. Muhammad Sabih 14, Sheheryar 12 and Umar Farooq 10 points were the main scorers for the victorious side.

The final will be played today between Usman Club and Bahria Club. PTF VP Khalid Jameel Shamsi will be the chief guest on the occasion.—Agencies

Quarter-finals of Punjab Junior Tennis held

LAHORE: The quarterfinals in different age categories were decided in the SICAS Punjab Junior Tennis Tournament at the Punjab Tennis Academy Bagh- e-Jinnah here on Thursday. A total number of 20 matches were played in boys singles and doubles U-18, Boys U-14, Boys/Girls U-12 and U-10.


Boys’ U-18: Faizan Fayyaz beat Hamza Jawad 6-1,6-1; Bilal Asim beat Ahtesham Arif 6-3,6-0; Shaeel Durab beat Ifham Rana 5-7,6-2,10-2.

U-18 Doubles’ semifinals:Faizan Fayyaz- Bilal Asim beat Ahtesham Arif- Jabir Ali 4-1,1-4,10-6; Zain-Ul-Abideen-Ifham Rana beat Zaeem Ghafoor- Abdullah Anjum 4-2,4-2.

U-14 (quarterfinals): Bilal Asim beat Muneeb Majeed 8-0; Arman Kamran beat Zaeem Ghafoor 8-0; Abubakar Khalil beat Moavia Butt 8-3; Asad Zaman beat Saeed Suleman 8-1.

Boys /Girls U-12 (quartersfinals): Haniya Minhas beat Eesa Bilal 8-0, Ameer Mazari beat Zohaib Afzal Malik 8-2, Omer Jawad beat Jannat Khalil 8-0, Raja Mustafa beat Ramzan 8-2.—Sports Reporter

NBP Inter-group T20 cricket from Feb 22

KARACHI: The fifth National Bank Inter-group T20 cricket tournament will commence here at the NBP Sports Complex and other grounds from Feb 22.

NBP Sports Head Iqbal Qasim on Tuesday announced the details of the tournament according to which 22 teams will be participating in it which have been divided into four groups. The matches will also be held at the TMC Ground, NTR Gymkhana and Naya Nazimabad Ground.

Iqbal said the tournament will be an opportunity for the employees as well as the officers of NBP to showcase their talent. Special prizes and trophies will be given to best batsman, best bowler, best wicketkeeper and man of the match, he added.—Agencies

Published in Dawn, February 14th, 2020