KARACHI: A blazing century from opener Abdul Rauf inspired Steel Town Gymkhana to a commanding total of 436-8 in the stipulated 45 overs on their way to a massive 223-run victory against Rahbar Sports during the All-Karachi Prof Ejaz Ahmed Faruqi Invitation Cricket Tournament fixture here on Wednesday.

Batting first at the Pak Star Ground, Steel Town Gymkhana launched their innings in blistering fashion as Rauf and Shaukat Ali put on 167 for the first wicket. While Rauf banged 112 off 79 deliveries with the aid of 16 boundaries and one six, Shaukat blasted 14 fours and three sixes in his 54-ball knock of 78. Akhtar Ali struck seven boundaries in making 45. Mohammad Saif claimed three wickets for 50 runs.

Rahbar Sports succumbed against the leg-spin of Toufiq Ahmed to be dismissed for 213 in the 39th over with Mohammad Usman scoring 46 (five fours and three sixes). Toufiq finished with excellent figures of 5-34.

Meanwhile in the day’s other fixture at the Easter Star Ground, Northern Gymkhana trounced Fazal-ur-Rehman Sports by a handsome margin of eight wickets.

The pace-cum-spin duo of Mushtaq Ahmed (4-42) and Afnan Ahmed (3-29) restricted Fazal-ur-Rehman Sports to 185-9 in 45 overs.

Veteran opener Nadeem Javed then hammered six sixes and nine fours in a powerful innings of 78 as Northern Gymkhana sealed victory in just 18 overs.

Summarised scores:

Northern Gymkhana beat Fazal-ur-Rehman Sports by eight wickets at Eastern Star Ground.

FAZAL-UR-REHMAN SPORTS 185-9 in 45 overs (Mohammad Bilal 39, Mohammad Owais 24, Owais Ali 23; Mushtaq Ahmed 4-42 Afnan Ahmed 3-29); NORTHERN GYMKHANA 186-2 in 18 overs (Nadeem Javed 78, Fahad Iqbal 37 not out, Rameez Aziz 30, Shiraz Mohammad 23 not out).

Steel Town Gymkhana beat Rahbar Sports by 223 runs at Pak Star Ground.

STEEL TOWN GYMKHANA 436-8 in 45 overs (Abdul Rauf 112, Shaukat Ali 78, Akhtar Ali 45, Abdul Mannan 27, Mohammad Farooq 25 not out; Mohammad Saif 3-50, Nauman Rafiq 2-67); RAHBAR SPORTS 213 in 38.3 overs (Mohammad Usman 46, Mohammad Saif 31, Mohammad Rohain 28, Mohammad Mutalib 20, Nabeel Nizam 20; Toufiq Ahmed 5-34).

Published in Dawn, February 14th, 2020