SL squad for Zimbabwe Tests

15 Jan 2020


COLOMBO: Sri Lanka on Tuesday named a 15-member squad for the two-match Test series in Zimbabwe, the first in the African nation since its suspension was lifted by the ICC.

Both Tests will be held in Harare, the first from Sunday and the second starting on Jan 27, Sri Lanka’s cricket board said.

Paceman Suranga Lakmal, who missed the recent Pakistan tour because of dengue fever, returns to the side in place of wicket-keeper/batsman Kusal Perera, while uncapped paceman Asitha Fernando, who was named for the Pakistan series but didn’t play, has also been dropped.

Zimbabwe last played a Test match in November 2018 when they toured Bangladesh and they were barred from ICC events in July last year because of political interference but was readmitted by the International Cricket Council three months later.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal.

Published in Dawn, January 15th, 2020