Zimbabwe beat Afghanistan

September 21, 2019


CHITTAGONG: Zim­babwe captain Hamilton Masakadza made his farewell match memorable by leading his side to a seven-wicket victory against Afghanistan on Friday in the T20 tri-series.

Zimbabwe also snapped Afgh­anistan’s eight-match winning streak in this format against them.

Masakadza struck a 42-ball 71, including four fours and five sixes, to help his side reach 156-3 in 19.3 overs after Afghanistan put on 155-8.

The match had nothing at stake after Zimbabwe was eliminated from contention following three straight defeats.

In his last international match, Masakadza combined for two important partnerships to edge his side closer to victory. He shared 40 with Brendan Taylor (19) for the opening stand before adding 70 runs with Regis Chakbva for the second wicket.

Chakabva kept the runs flowing after fast bowler Dawlat Zadran had Maskadza caught by Mohammad Nabi at long-on with Zimbabwe at 110-2 in 13th over.

“Fantastic feeling to finish off like that,” Masakadza said. “Always knew the boys had a performance in them. Good to get a send-off like this.”

Chakabva made 32 while Sean Williams, who hit the winning single, was not out on 21.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz smashed a 47-ball 61, his maiden fifty, to lift Afghanistan after Rashid Khan opted to bat first. He and Hazratullah Zazai (31) combined for 83 runs in just 9.3 overs but the Zimbabwe bowlers, led by Christopher Mpofu’s career-best 4-30, stifled Afghanistan halfway through the innings.

Tinotenda Mutumbodzi claimed 2-18 to give Mpofu the support to restrict Afghanistan to a moderate total.

“We had a good start but didn’t finish off well,” Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan said. “That’s a part of T20 cricket. Had a good game, will take the positives and will try not to repeat the mistakes.”

Afghanistan will take on Bangladesh on Saturday in a dress rehearsal of the final, which is on Sept 24 in Dhaka.



R. Gurbaz b Willams 61
H. Zazai c Mutumbami b Mutombodzi 31
Shafiqullah lbw Mpofu 16
N. Zadran c Madziva b Mutombodzi 5
M Nabi c Jarvis b Mpofu 4
Gulbadin Naib c Ndlovu b Jarvis 10
Fazal Niazai c Burl b Mpofu 12
Rashid Khan not out 9
Asghar Afghan c Ndlovu b Mpofu 0
Dawlat Zadran not out 0

EXTRAS (B-4, NB-3) 7

TOTAL (for 8 wkts; 20 overs) 155

DID NOT BAT: Mujeeb Ur Rahman

FALL OF WKTS: 1-83, 2-107, 3-116, 4-121, 5-124, 6-140, 7-154, 8-155.

BOWLING: Ndlovu 4-0-23-0, Jarvis 3-0-27-1 (nb2), Williams 4-0-34-1 (nb1), Mpofu 4-0-30-4, Burl 1-0-13-0, Madziva 1-0-6-0, Mutombodzi 3-0-18-2.


B. Taylor c Najibullah b Mujeeb 19
H. Masakadza c Nabi b Dawlat 71
R. Chakabva c Rashid b Mujeeb 39
S. Williams not out 21
T. Mutombodzi not out 1

EXTRAS (W-5) 5

TOTAL (for three wkts, 19.3 overs) 156

DID NOT BAT: R. Burl, R. Mutumbami, N. Madziva, K. Jarvis, A. Ndlovu, C. Mpofu.

FALL OF WKTS: 1-40, 2-110, 3-139.

BOWLING: Mujeeb 4-0-38-2, Dawlat 3.3-0-27-1 (w1), Naib 3-0-19-0, Nabi 4-0-40-0 (w2), Rashid 4-0-29-0 (w1), Niazai 1-0-13-0 (w1).

RESULT: Zimbabwe won by seven wickets.

UMPIRES: Tanvir Ahmed (BAN), Sharfuddoula (BAN).

TV UMPIRES: Gazi Sohel (BAN).


Published in Dawn, September 21st, 2019