Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


ISLAMABAD: The government has appointed Shaista Bano Gilani and Bushra Naz Malik as Members Competition Commission of Pakistan (CCP) for a three-year term, with both taking charge of their office.

Shaista Bano, an expert on finance and economics for competition law, was previously working as the Director General Cartels and Trade Abuse at CCP and she conducted several important enquiries resulting in the imposition of penalties on powerful cartels. She has also served the Securities and Exchange Commission of Pakistan as Deputy Registrar of Companies.

Meanwhile, Bushra Naz Malik is a lawyer and charted accountant with experience in private and public sector consultancy, as well as business development and finance. Her work in the field of audit includes chairing the committees and boards of various national and international organisations.

After these appointments, the commission now consists of five members as stipulated in the Competition Act, 2010. The other three members are Chairperson Vadiyya Khalil, Dr Shahzad Ansar and Dr Muhammad Saleem.

Published in Dawn, April 6th, 2019