Kohli first to win three ICC awards

January 23, 2019


DUBAI: India captain Virat Kohli became first player in history to win three major ICC awards and was also named skipper of both ICC Test and ODI teams of the year on Tuesday.

Kohli was named cricketer of the year and won the Sir Garfield Trophy, was named best Test player of the year and also ODI player of the year after his extraordinary batting form in 2018.

The 30-year-old Kohli scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 with five centuries in 13 Tests. He also scored 1,202 runs in 14 ODIs that featured six centuries and came at an astonishing average of 133.55.

Pakistan’s Mohammad Abbas makes Test XI

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year,” Kohli said in an ICC media release. “I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.”

Kohli became only the second player after Australian great Ricky Ponting to retain the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy — given to the cricketer of the year.

He was the unanimous choice for the award, with South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada coming second in both the cricketer of the year category and the Test player of the year.

In addition, Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ODI player of the year awards last year and was also the ODI player of the year in 2012.

ICC chief executive David Richardson congratulated Kohli for his impressive form in 2018.

“To be recognized as a true cricketing great you need to be successful at all formats of the game and Virat has become a great ambassador for our sport,” Richardson said.

The Test and ODI teams of the year were picked by the ICC’s voting academy, which is comprised of former cricketers and members of the media.

Kohli finished 2018 as the No.1 batsman in both Tests and ODIs, while India ended the year as the top-ranked Test team and No.2 behind England in the ODI rankings.

India wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah also featured on the all-XI Test team. And Bumrah is the only other player, in addition to Kohli, who made both the Test and ODI teams.

Three New Zealand players captain Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls and opening batsman Tom Latham were picked on the Test team. Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Jason Holder (West Indies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia) and Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan) completed the Test squad.

“This looks like an individual piece of recognition, but it is much more about the team,” Williamson said in the ICC statement.

Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma and spinner Kuldeep Yadav made it on the ODI squad. It also included England’s Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes. Top-ranked bowler Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Mustafizur Rehman (Bangladesh) and Ross Taylor (New Zealand) were named in the ODI team.

Australia opening batsman Aaron Finch won the T20 performance of the year award for the second time for his record 172 against Zimbabwe in Harare in last July.

Pant was named emerging player of the year, Scotland’s Calum MacLeod got the ICC associate player of the year award, Williamson won the ICC spirit of cricket award and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena was chosen as umpire of the year.

ICC awards:

Test team of the year: Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India, wicket-keeper), Jason Holder (West Indies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).

ODI team of the year: Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Kohli (captain), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England, wicket-keeper), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Bumrah.

ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Kohli.

Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Kohli.

Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Kohli.

Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Rishabh Pant (India).

Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Calum Macleod (Scotland).

Men’s T20I Performance of the Year: Aaron Finch (Australia) — 172 off 76 balls vs Zimbabwe.

Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka).

Spirit of Cricket: Kane Williamson (New Zealand).

Published in Dawn, January 23rd, 2019