Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


PESHAWAR: The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday announced schedule for filling a vacant seat reserved for women in National Assembly from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two vacant reserved seats in provincial assembly.

These seats remained vacant as priority lists of candidates of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf exhausted. Now the party has to nominate more candidates for these seats. The ECP has on August 11 notified the names of women MNAs and MPAs elected on reserved seats.

PTI had clinched seven of the nine seats reserved for women in National Assembly from KP. However, names of six of its candidates were notified and the seventh seat remained vacant as the priority list had exhausted.

Similarly, PTI had secured 16 of the 22 seats reserved for woman in the provincial assembly. However, names of 14 of its candidates were notified and two seats remained vacant as the concerned list exhausted.

According to the ECP notification, only candidates of PTI will submit nomination papers. The commission said that last date for filing of the priority list by PTI was August 30.

The provincial election commissioner is appointed as the returning officer for this purpose.

The returning officer will issue public notice on August 27, whereas nomination papers will be filed from August 28 to 30. Scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on September 4, whereas appeals could be filed against decision of the returning officer till September 8.

Last date for deciding appeals by the appellate tribunal will be September 13 after which list of revised candidates will be published on September 14. Last date for withdrawal of nomination papers will be September 15 after which list of contesting candidates will be published on September 16.

Subsequently, the ECP will notify the names of successful candidates in the light of the priority lists of candidates to be submitted by PTI. Under the Constitution, nine seats of MNAs and 22 seats of MPAs are reserved for women in KP.

PTI has won seven of nine MNA seats whereas a single seat each is won by Mutahidda Majlis-i-Amal and PML-N. Similarly, apart from 16 seats of MPAs won by PTI, ANP and MMA have secured two seats each, whereas PPP and PML-N have begged a single seat of MPA.

Published in Dawn, August 21st, 2018