Alert Sign Dear reader, online ads enable us to deliver the journalism you value. Please support us by taking a moment to turn off Adblock on

Alert Sign Dear reader, please upgrade to the latest version of IE to have a better reading experience


New CM takes oath; governor quits

August 18, 2018


PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Mahmood Khan sworn-in as Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, while Governor Iqbal Zafar Jghara resigned from his post here on Friday.

Governor Iqbal Zafar Jhagra administered oath to Mahmood who was elected Leader of the House in the provincial assembly on Thursday after he secured 77 votes against opposition nominee Mian Nisar Gul’s 33 votes.

The oath-taking ceremony was held at the Governors House.

Around 1,000 guests, including party workers, were in presence. Speaker Mushtaq Ghani, MPAs, senior officers and foreign diplomats were also present.

MPAs from the opposition benches except Pakistan Peoples Party did not attend the function.

An official statement said that Chief Minister Mahmood Khan held a meeting with Governor Jhagra after the ceremony.

Sources said that the PTI leadership would hold meetings in Islamabad on Friday night and Saturday to finalise names for the cabinet.

Meanwhile, Governor Jhagra, who belongs to PML-N, submitted his resignation to President Mamnoon Hussain. He was appointed governor in March 2016.

PTI has nominated MPA Shah Farman for the slot of governor.

Published in Dawn, August 18th, 2018